I diagnosed myself for gluten intolerance after a lifetime of bizarre, seemingly unrelated afflictions. If my doctors had their way, I would have already undergone neck surgery, still be on 3 different inhalers for asthma, be vomiting daily and having chronic panic attacks. However, since eliminating gluten from my diet in May 2009, I no longer suffer from any of those things. Even with the proof in the pudding (or gluten) my doctors now want me to ingest gluten to test for celiac-no can do.
If you use your BBQ grill for grilling gluten buns and gluten marinated meats, you will want to consider buying a new BBQ grill and dedicating it to your gluten-free foods only. However, if you share a grill with gluten containing foods and a dedicated BBQ grill is not an option, you will need to clean your grill thoroughly before each use and grill your gluten-free food before the grill is contaminated with gluten buns, meats, sauce drippings, etc. If you are a guest at a BBQ, and grilling your food on a clean grill first is not an option, or if you aren't sure if the grill is really clean, you might want to try using aluminum foil as a buffer between your food and the grill. Grilling your food on clean aluminum foil will keep the grill from contaminating your food. You will also want to make sure your food is not touched by any of the grill utensils that have touched gluten.
*Reminder: Always make sure your work surfaces, utensils, pans and tools are free of gluten. Always read product labels carefully. Manufacturers can change product formulations, and ingredients without notice. If you have doubt, do not buy or use a product before contacting the manufacturer for absolute verification that the product is definitely gluten-free.
If you don't have time to make your own marinade, there are gluten-free marinade options available. If you do make your own BBQ sauce, be sure to use gluten-free ingredients. Here are some gluten-free sauces and ingredients to help you on your way.
1 can (16 ounces) gluten free chick peas or garbanzo beans¼ liquid from the can
3 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 ½ tablespoons tahini
5cloves garlic, crushed
½ teaspoon Himalayan salt
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
SERVES 5 -10
Drain chickpeas and reserve 1/4 of a cup of the liquid. Place all ingredients in a blender and blend on low until smooth. This is a basic recipe, but you can add your favorite spices to make whatever variation strikes your fancy.
What BBQ is complete without a cold beer or blended margarita to wash down all the yummy grub? While beer is typically made with wheat or barley and is therefore not gluten-free, in these modern times, we have more options than our celiac/gluten intolerant relatives ever drempt of. Today, we can find beer brewed with rice, sorghum, millet and other gluten-free grains. Sampling gluten-free beers before a BBQ or event will allow you to decide which beers you like so you know what to bring to the BBQ. I have included links below to gluten-free beers world-wide, though many of the following beers can be found at your local grocery store. (Please note, not all beers on the following list are certified gluten-free. Some are from a dedicated facility, but all are gluten-free).