Traditionally, Matzo (also known as Matzah or Matza) is an unleavened bread that is eaten during the week-long Jewish holiday known as Passover. However, I just found an amazing gluten-free matzo that I will be sure to have on hand year-round.
Yehuda's Gluten-free Matzo is imported from Israel and is not only Kosher for Passover (Orthodox Union Parve), but it is also certified gluten-free! These crackers are made as a large cracker sheet (approx 7” x 7”) and they have such a wonderful crunch and flakiness to them, and contain just the right amount of salt. Compared with most gluten-free crackers I've had these are lower in both salt and sugar, and they would be perfect to set out for any guests on any occasion (gluten-free or not).
Other than the size of the gluten-free matzo, their taste and texture are the closest thing to a "Saltine" cracker that I have tried since going gluten-free over nine years ago. My only complaint would be that there were a few pieces of the gluten-free matzo that arrived broken, but I would have broken them down into smaller pieces anyhow, so it wasn't a big deal.
In my opinion the taste of these gluten-free crackers is wonderful. They can be enjoyed on their own, or topped with cheese or meat, or you could crumble them up and put them on top of your favorite dish. I am just so happy to finally have found a gluten-free cracker that tastes great and is versatile, and one that my picky gluten-free two-year-old actually likes to eat as well. I also can't wait to get creative with them in the kitchen and begin using them for things like breaded coatings for fried chicken, toppings for soups and salads and as a basic ingredient in my favorite recipes.
Visit their site at: GlutenFreeMatzo.com.
Note: Articles that appear in the "Gluten-Free Food & Specialty Product Companies" section of this site are paid advertisements. For more information about this see our Advertising Page.