No popular authors found.

Categories

No categories found.


Join Celiac.com's forum / message board and get your questions answered! Our forum has nearly 1 MILLION POSTS, and over 62,000 MEMBERS just waiting to help you with any questions about celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. We'll see you there!






Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Gluten-free Communion Wafers Not Holy, Says Catholic Diocese in Ohio

Celiac.com 08/09/2012 - Among many gluten-free catholics, there's been a good deal of excitement lately about low-gluten and gluten-free communion wafers for Mass in the Catholic church.

Photo: CC--fradaveccsHowever, much of that excitement seems to have been misplaced, at least in Ohio. That's because the Catholic Diocese of Columbus recently said that gluten-free wafers don’t meet Vatican standards because they don’t contain wheat.

For Catholics, consecrated bread and wine are the literal body and blood of Jesus, and the sacrament of Holy Eucharist is “the heart and the summit of the Church’s life,” according to its catechism.

Because Jesus ate wheat bread with his apostles before his Crucifixion, church law requires the host to be wheat and only wheat, said Deacon Martin Davies, director of the Office for Divine Worship at the Diocese of Columbus. Without wheat, the wafers cannot be consecrated and used in Mass, so no gluten-free wafers.

In 1995, the Vatican said low-gluten hosts are valid if they hold enough gluten to make bread. Worshippers wanting the low-gluten option were required to present a medical certificate and obtain a bishop’s approval.

The policy was loosened in 2003 to eliminate the medical-certificate requirement and to allow pastors to grant approval. The Vatican also said that Catholics with celiac disease could receive Communion via wine only.

However, for faithful catholics with celiac disease and gluten intolerance who want to participate more fully, the low-gluten version, which some say tastes terrible, remains the only communion wafer option.

U.S. Catholic bishops have approved two manufacturers of low-gluten wafers. One is the Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in Missouri; the order’s website says it has provided hosts for more than 2,000 celiac sufferers. The other is Parish Crossroads in Indiana, which provides low-gluten hosts made in Germany.

The low-gluten wafers made by the Benedictine Sisters contain less than 100 parts per million, says Mary Kay Sharrett, a clinical dietitian at Nationwide Children’s Hospital. She said the amount of gluten in one of the hosts is 0.004 milligrams and that researchers have found it takes about 10 milligrams per day to start a reaction.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has proposed a rule that says products could be labeled gluten-free if the gluten content is less than 20 parts per million.

Source:

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).



Related Articles




Spread The Word





79 Responses:

 
Sandra
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Aug 2012 3:23:42 PM PST
The researchers are obviously not talking about those Celiacs for whom even a crumb can cause horrible pain and diarrhea. Even worse, the silent damage that is done to the body even without having a noticeable "reaction". Once again, the Catholic Church is showing extreme lack of compassion for its parishioners in favor of archaic dogma.

 
Geoffrey
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
11 Aug 2012 5:27:09 AM PST
No, the Church is not "showing extreme lack of compassion…" The purpose of Holy Communion is to receive the grace of Jesus Christ through the reception of His Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity, which brings one into greater union with Him. To receive this grace, it's not about quantity. One only need receive even the tiniest piece of a Consecrated Host, OR (here's the important part for this) the smallest drop - or sip - from the chalice. The Church has made it clear people with this affliction can receive from the chalice, just as one without celiac could receive all the grace needed from just the Sacred Host. Alcoholics regularly receive only the Consecrated Host, and they receive the full grace intended.

 
Luke
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
13 Aug 2012 7:48:56 PM PST
Geoffrey, are you celiac? Because you seem to know theory but not fact, and the fact is very few priests know the Vatican rules and even fewer understand cross contamination. If the priest practices intinction, then the wine isn't safe, either. Also, very few parishes offer the cup to the congregation and when they do, I don't want to drink from a cup that someone with a mouth full of wheat has drunk from.

 
Bil
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Oct 2013 8:25:46 PM PST
Intinction is not the practice and not permitted in the General Instruction of the Roman Missal, although it does persist in some of the Easter Rite Churches. That said, most parishes have low-gluten hosts that are stored separately from the wheat hosts. If you approach the priest before Mass, he will always set one aside, consecrate it with the rest, and then give it to you from a separate pyx to avoid contamination with the others.

 
Markus
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
11 Mar 2015 7:22:13 AM PST
I was born with coeliac and suffer really bad and I use the low gluten hosts which cause me no trouble at all and most priest in this day and age are very understanding even thou you might think they are not and ignorant to the whole idea of gluten free/low gluten hosts but they are very understanding (well they are very understanding in my diocese) and when drinking wine from a chalice it is wiped after every mouthful that is taken so you are very unlikely to suffer with a coeliac attack...

I cannot eat a crumb of wheat/gluten without suffering for 10 days and ive had low gluten hosts and drank from the chalice at every mass and never had any issues...

If you do have a problem with this and it is bugging you them please speak to your parish priest

 
Zloduska
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 7:25:17 AM PST
What [you] clearly [do] not understand is that for someone with severe celiac disease, ANY quantity of gluten causes horrible consequences! With all the compassion you have NOT shown to those with genetic autoimmune disorders.

 
Kelly
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 4:44:48 PM PST
I would simply agree - a drop or a crumb to someone suffering could mean continued suffering. I do not believe that this is necessary given our options of protecting and caring for anyone who is ill. Compassion, understanding and incorporating knowledge is what is particularly important in such collective understanding.

 
Clare

said this on
30 Jun 2014 8:53:22 AM PST
So talk to the priest and have him consecrate a separate chalice of wine for only celiacs. Many times they will comply. If the bishop has said no wine, talk to him for a dispensation.

 
Jawnee
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
27 Sep 2013 9:48:57 AM PST
Uh.....Jesus himself made an anology of eating his actual body and drinking his blood to wine and bread. I am pretty sure that the analogy would work just as well with gluten free wafers! As long as they are prepared and presented in a traditional Catholic mass! I guess the real hard-core Christians should be eating real human flesh and drinking real blood eh? The rest of us are just pretending right?!

 
Deborah
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
04 Oct 2013 6:53:08 AM PST
Well said.

 
Bil
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Oct 2013 8:16:49 PM PST
So now you are a theologian? Jesus made no such "analogy". John 6 is a clear indication that Jesus was talking about His actual flesh. It becomes more clear in the Greek original than it does in the English translation. The use of wheat bread doesn't originate in the New Testament, either. The Old Testament has "Temple Bread" that was to be consumed by the priests. Jesus, as both victim and priest of the sacrifice, offers Himself. Since He made wheat bread into His body, we are not permitted to use anything else.

 
Joann
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
12 Mar 2014 8:19:51 PM PST
Thanks, Bil, for explaining why the Catholic Church can't just "change" something that is part of it's heritage, and what Jesus commanded from the very beginning. If we did, we wouldn't be the one true Catholic Church!

 
Ann
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Jun 2014 7:24:20 PM PST
My understanding is that when the bread and wine are consecrated during the mass they become the actual flesh and blood of Christ. Given human beings are not made of gluten, I do not understand the controversy. Why would anyone with Celiac disease, who truly believes it is the body of Christ they are eating, need worry about gluten? Just another contradiction of the church. I am so looking forward to the explanation for this one.

 
Grace

said this on
04 Aug 2014 1:02:13 PM PST
You're right, the bread and wine do become the Body and Blood of Christ when they are consecrated. Just like Jesus was 100% man and 100% God, the consecrated host is 100% bread and 100% the Body of Christ.

 
Rosabel
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 May 2016 1:33:19 PM PST
Jesus was not a pin head. He was no stickler for tradition. I'm sure he would say, "If you can't eat wheat use something else--duh! What is important is that you receive me!

 
Get Well
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
30 Jun 2014 10:22:06 AM PST
Amen!

 
Dana
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
03 Jan 2014 7:00:23 PM PST
Yes, the church IS showing extreme lack of compassion. You can hang out in Fantasy La-La Land all you want but you can't change the nature of reality. And reality says there are people who have extreme reactions to wheat and should never eat it. Period.

Even when you don't feel physical GI symptoms it doesn't mean you aren't reacting badly. I get migraines from wheat and I may also get mental-health issues. A lot of people get leaky gut from eating it, and after they're already sensitized it only takes a little wheat to open things back up again. If you ever wondered why so many people have autoimmune disorders, wheat is a major contributor.

It's nice that Catholics are allowed to have either the Host or the wine, not necessarily both. It'd be even nicer if the Church would keep in mind that the Bible doesn't say what kind of bread Jesus was eating and furthermore, even if it *was* wheat, it was a different variety than what we have today.

But that's apparently too much to ask.

 
Clare

said this on
30 Jun 2014 8:51:36 AM PST
Good response despite the critical rating you received. If it ain't what Jesus said it should be it ain't Jesus.

 
Clare
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
30 Jun 2014 8:56:24 AM PST
So ask for a separate chalice of wine to be consecrated. My sister does this. It is not archaic dogma any more than the fact that it is Jesus if validly consecrated is. Are you Catholic? If you are then you are in name only. There were many saints who were not celiac who were yearning for Holy Communion (Blessed Imelda Lambertini, or any of the martyrs in prison or any who are in mission territory). If you truly yearn for Christ, develop a rapport with your pastor and figure a way for you to receive.

 
Carol
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
11 Apr 2016 4:06:07 PM PST
My pastor let me use the low gluten for a short time and one time offered me a regular host by mistake! I refused it which felt like I committed murder or some unforgivable sin and he no longer would allow the low gluten hosts. He said: "It threw his rhythm off"! I have chosen to not attend Mass any longer. God knew I was born with this disease and refuse to be humiliated.

 
Carol
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
11 Apr 2016 4:17:00 PM PST
PS. I must add that I am also a recovering alcoholic, another disease I did not ask for, so the wine is not an option either. I sat in the last row of the tiny church and didn't go up for Communion any longer to not disturb the flow. I understand the Intention to receive prayer is acceptable. but now I just stay home.

 
Elizabeth D
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Aug 2012 4:36:48 PM PST
This is a pretty good article on this topic. The low-gluten hosts from the Benedictine Sisters have become a common presence in the parishes near me. Some parishes order their own, and some celiac parishioners buy their own low-gluten hosts and bring a host to church to give to the priest before Mass, usually in its own separate pyx (a little gold-plated box--your priest can explain). Catholics do have to be VERY careful not to use the wheat-free, completely gluten-free hosts. Receiving the Precious Blood (after the consecration it is NOT wine) from the cup may also be an option for celiac disease Catholics. Ask the priest before Mass. Jesus is truly present body, blood, soul and divinity, in either "kind" of the Eucharist.

 
Clare
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
30 Jun 2014 8:59:02 AM PST
True.

 
Shannon
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
11 Aug 2012 8:32:28 AM PST
The Bible never says that the bread was wheat. That's assumed.

 
Bil
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Oct 2013 8:22:23 PM PST
Incorrect. There are plenty of archaeological artifacts, contemporaneous writings and traditional accounts of how all food was prepared. Rice was not used for bread. Wheat was. In fact, wheat *IS* mentioned in the New Testament, many times. No mention exists, however, for any other grain used in making bread.

 
James
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
20 Aug 2014 8:45:10 AM PST
I have 2 family members who must have gluten free everything. Even the slightest bit of gluten makes them seriously ill. I do not believe for one moment that Jesus would restrict the celebration of the Eucharist by limiting people's participation because of wheat or no wheat. When the bread and wine become the body and blood of our lord it matters not that the host was wheat. Or are you implying that our lord couldn't change any other bread type into his body? That would be like saying Jesus is able to do miracle after miracle but not any bread into his body but wheat. I think not. And you do pontificate a bit.

 
Gabrielle
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
13 Aug 2012 1:13:31 PM PST
Come on now! It's about what is in your heart...your faith in God and in His son......to say that the gluten free hosts don't "meet Vatican standards" is hog wash! I receive GF bread every time it's offered at my church and feel good about it...

 
Denise
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 11:38:04 AM PST
I have stopped taking communion as bread and take the Lord in my heart all the same. This is between my Lord and myself. I try to live like a good person and continue to do everything as before.

 
Bil
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Oct 2013 8:39:27 PM PST
Oh really? If you have such a close relationship with Christ, than I'm sure you are familiar with His words in John 6:53. “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you." In Luke 22:19, it says "Then he took the bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them, saying, 'This is my body, which will be given for you; do this in memory of me.'"

Jesus commands us to worship not only alone, but in community, and by the practice of taking His body and blood in communion. Faith is not only personal, no matter how much people may try and tell themselves it is. it is communal. Communion, rightly known as the Eucharist, is a sign of Thanksgiving for Christ's redemption of mankind. We are privileged to receive it, and required, by Christ and His Apostles, to receive it.

 
Kelly
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 4:53:08 PM PST
Gabrielle - I agree with you totally! And, for all of you reading this - isn't it slightly disturbing that we are outsourcing our communion? I have nothing against Germany - but what about finding a location within the US to provide us with creating the blessed GF offering? At least shipment costs would be lower, no?

 
Bil
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Oct 2013 8:32:07 PM PST
First of all, relax. Catholics have a much different understanding of the Eucharist than Protestant churches do. It is not meant to make us "feel good". It is a sacrament that requires both proper matter and form to be valid. The gluten-free hosts truly do NOT meet Vatican standards because they must be made of wheat. There is a very profound theological reason for this, and it has nothing to do with a lack of compassion. In fact, it is the greatest act of COMPASSION the world has ever known. We believe that Christ died for the redemption of our sins, and the Eucharist (Greek for "Thanksgiving") is the way to distribute that grace to mankind. Jesus Himself said "Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood will have eternal life" (Jn 6:54). The Eucharist is His flesh and Blood. Christ followed the Old Testament practice of using wheat bread for temple use. The Catholic Church has approved low gluten hosts, but it cannot allow hosts to be made of grains other than wheat.

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
15 Oct 2013 1:28:50 PM PST
There is a Vatican approved host made using Codex wheat starch that is under 20ppm.

 
James
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
20 Aug 2014 8:59:18 AM PST
My lord are you full of yourself? And just so it is clear, low gluten hosts are just as bad as wheat hosts. Try to understand gluten FREE. And yes, the church could permit
Non wheat. They have changed or modified other parts of our practices; this could be done as well. It is rule bound Catholics like you that are keeping many away from our faith. Reminds me of some tight hat nuns I had in school.

 
Jasmine
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
13 Aug 2012 1:29:36 PM PST
How Christian is it to deny holy communion to those who are gluten intolerant? It isn't at all Christian. It's bigoted and hypocritical and mean.

 
Clare
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
30 Jun 2014 8:59:56 AM PST
No one is denying anyone anything. Try asking the priest for the Precious Blood. Form a rapport with the priest and work it out.

 
Sonya Coover
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
13 Aug 2012 5:05:25 PM PST
Wow, this truly leaves me speechless for a moment! What if something that was administered by Jesus were found to be a poison with today's science and knowledge would the catholic authorities still take the same stand? Really, I'm glad I'm not Catholic but feel for my brothers and sisters that are!

 
Joe
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
13 Aug 2012 7:31:34 PM PST
The wine is an issue too. The priest puts a piece of the host in the chalice.
And if you happen to get the cup with no piece of host, then people who have just ate gluten have their lips on the chalice. So either way the wine has gluten.
It's enough gluten to make me sick.
I'm also concerned the Vatican is telling people with celiac disease to ingest something that is harmful to their health. Doesn't that seem wrong? Even if it's such a small amount, people with celiac know gluten is harmful to their bodies.

 
Pamela
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 4:32:52 AM PST
I cannot receive communion at church, even the smallest trace has gluten. The wine becomes contaminated with everyone drinking from it with the host in there mouth. The government standards don't work for me. There are a lot of products marked gluten free that I cannot eat because they have small amounts of gluten and I get sick. I don't think Jesus would exclude anyone from receiving. He didn't say only people without celiac do this in memory of me!

 
Chris
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 5:23:56 AM PST
Once again people are mistaking humans for the Divine. The Pope does not tell the Holy Spirit what to do. My option is communion by intent -- it is an option sanctioned by the Church. While receiving the Body and Blood of Christ is important, Christ always made clear his care and concern for the ill. Christ will not abandon those wish to believe but who cannot abide by human misinterpretation of His divine will.

 
James
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
20 Aug 2014 9:03:29 AM PST
Celiac Catholics don't have that "option"

 
Teri
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 7:16:35 AM PST
Shannon you are right the Bible never says wheat. That is why so many people are leaving the Catholic religion. I would never be able to take the host. I do let the priest no before mass that I can not take the host and he brings me down the wine.

 
Clare
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
30 Jun 2014 8:57:56 AM PST
The Bible does say wheat because that is what was used at the Last Supper: the Passover meal.

 
James
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
20 Aug 2014 9:12:57 AM PST
Even if it said barley or rice, once it becomes our Jesus's body it doesn't matter. If that is the case, it doesn't have to be wheat now does it? Another archaic practive that should be changed. But according to you and Bill, the fourth wise man, it has to be that way. Most Catholics think otherwise.

 
john stanczak
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 11:21:44 AM PST
As a Catholic I very firnly believe I am receiving the actual body and blood of Christ. 28 years ago I gave up drinking alcohol and was afraid of taking the cup because I felt I would be back on booze. After 3 or 4 years I asked myself this question. If I believe the consecrated wine is the actual blood of Jesus would He allow me to go back to being an alcoholic?? From His blood ?? NO NO NO. If your faith is strong I would suggest taking just a small portion of the Host and see what happens. If no reaction take a bigger piece the next time..Jesus will work with you even if you only have a little itty bitty faith in Him.

 
LKM
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
25 Aug 2012 11:27:58 AM PST
It doesn't work that way. Would you tell someone with a severe, life-threatening peanut allergy to just try a little? NEVER! I can appreciate your personal experience and I know you are trying to be helpful but please do a little research before giving incorrect medical advice. Gluten causes more than just vommiting in celiacs. It can set off a chain of reactions and eventually lead to many cancers and autoimmune diseases. Thank you.

 
Sigrid
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
29 Aug 2012 12:05:12 PM PST
Exactly! Have faith, holy communion is a miracle, the Lord cures everything!

 
cheryl
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 11:26:04 AM PST
Even the Beneditine sisters don't believe the churches attitude. They actually advertise that these low-gluten wafers are "produced in a dedicated gluten free factility" on their web site.
Now how is it possible to bring in sufficient gluten to ensure that the end product contains .01% and also claim the facility is GLUTEN FREE?

It simply is a lie!

The issue is silly. God changes the host into his body. He is omnipotent. He loves every human he made and would never purposely do anything to cause suffering and DEATH! Therefore, he is perfectly willing to change that 100% gluten free wafer into his body.
The Catholic Church is messed up on this point! I was Roman Catholic. Then I was diagnosed with celiac at the brink of death from the disease. I am not confused about the church's attitude.

 
Kelly
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 2:50:49 PM PST
I am a psychotherapist who has celiac disease and who works with clients experiencing the stressors of maintaining health in a world that doesn't always understand. The stigma and the symptoms are enough to cope with for most...and this is not needed. My work requires that I maintain attitude of acceptance - and, it is this that I shall hope begins to appear in areas that are designed to be open and spiritual. Perhaps those in this region will grow in their understanding and acceptance.

 
Susan
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 3:02:04 PM PST
I am a catholic super sensitive celiac sufferer who agrees that requiring the host to contain wheat is not what Jesus intended. However, I am O.K. with just receiving the sacrament in the form of wine. When I ask if we could set this up in a way that I wouldn't be cross-contaminated by others drinking from the chalice who had just received the wheat host my priest was unreceptive. I just gave up and don't go to communion. My experience was, that the priest was very interested in defending the church's stance on wheat being required in the host but not very interested in helping me receive the sacrament. Priorities?

 
Kelly
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 4:47:53 PM PST
Hi Susan - I am sorry to read another story of unwillingness to adapt to conditions that we experience. I hope you will continue to speak about this and not allow your voice to be quieted or dismissed. Awareness develops after priorities are challenged.

Best to you!

 
Julie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 5:16:03 PM PST
At my parish in southern California, I bring my host from the Benedictine nuns in my own pyx. At Communion time, the ciborium with all the GF pyxes is brought to a special place, and we receive them there, along with the Precious Blood in a chalice from which no one else has drunk. It's a system that works very well. Our diocese has no problem with these low-GF hosts.

I think some priests and bishops just don't get it. I travel often, and the priests have been very helpful except in one place. I urge people to "shop" for a parish that meets their needs.

 
GlutenFreeWorship
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Aug 2012 6:26:45 PM PST
If Jesus were here, He would agree that wheat/gluten is bad for the body - EVERYbody. This is just another example of man-made doctrines that are pure blasphemy. I don't care if a HUMAN wrote down into the holy scriptures that we must eat wheat; it was misinformation from the start. Even Jewish people still consider wheat/gluten to be Kosher... and gluten free matzo is NOT Kosher for Seder. This gluten thing has turned many gentiles and semites into hypocrites! Pray for them to see the error of their ways!

These are all the types of people who've lost all sight of what it really means to serve God and help our brothers and sisters. And I'd bet my soul that the Vatican takes kickbacks from the wheat industry!

 
Christine Toms
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
16 Aug 2012 5:11:16 PM PST
Such middle-ages doctrine by any church is fundamentalist and dangerous hogwash. I can't think that a toxic sweet substance would be given to a diabetic or a packet of peanuts given to a fatal nut allergy sufferer. So why gluten? It's almost like advocating burning witches at the stake. I thank God this idiot isn't in my parish and recommend a gluten-free congregation goes to another church or denomination, if necessary. Perhaps contrary to popular belief, God is bigger than the Vatican.

 
Kris
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
27 Aug 2012 6:42:13 PM PST
When my twin daughters were about to receive their 1st holy communion this past May, I told the priest that Em was gluten-free and he ordered the gluten-free wafers for us with no incident. Now Maddie has been diagnosed with Celiac, too, and is taking the gluten-free wafers. Father is soooo good with it all.

 
Sheogorath
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
01 Dec 2012 4:43:24 PM PST
I guess Holy Water isn't holy either, if consecration isn't enough...

 
Joe n
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Dec 2012 10:09:00 PM PST
You know, I'm no catholic so maybe I don't have a dog in this fight, but I am a celiac patient and I am a Christian and I take communion. I think it is ludicrous to tell someone with an allergy this. Do you think our Lord is going to say "you took communion without a wheat cracker so I'm going to judge you"? Absolutely not! But he does say that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost and therefore one shouldn't do anything to tear it down. For a celiac, it would be doing just that. You know when I take communion, I don't take real "wine" either. I drink grape juice. I don't drink alcohol. Does that make my communion "unholy" as well? I don't think so. It's the heart of the matter. It's doing it in remembrance of Him. I think He could care less whether it's gluten-full or gluten-free. Besides, if you want to play that card, you need to go back 2000 years and get some of their wheat from them because this stuff that we have now is NOT the same stuff. It's been genetically engineered.

 
Fran_PA
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Dec 2012 7:28:00 PM PST
It's 10:20 PM and I am still in pain from Communion at an 8:30 AM Mass this morning. Wine wasn't offered. Even if wine was offered, I have to agree this is a source for cross-contamination of spreading wheat through others drinking from the same cup or a host being dipped into it. I know the reaction I am having, and I'm upset because I know I will feel this for 2 days, meaning it has just caused me pain through Christmas Eve and Christmas. Yes, I have celiac disease. No, I won't take Communion at a Catholic Mass again, even the "low-gluten" wafers.

 
Jamie K
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
06 Feb 2013 8:32:35 AM PST
I feel for you. When I get glutened, I feel it for a good 5-8 days. It hurts and it's unnecessary.

 
Pensieve
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
03 Jan 2013 7:02:00 AM PST
If you discuss this issue with your pastor, Fran, he may accommodate you with a chalice set aside exclusively for your use. I know of a case where this was done in Massachusetts.

What's missing here in the complaints of some of us celiacs is any kind of sense that transubstantiation is a gift of Jesus Christ, not a kind of magic the rules of which the Church totally controls. The Church can't transubstantiate rice because Christ has not given it the authority to do so. If someone were allergic to both rice and white, which could happen, the Church could not then consecrate mashed potatoes. Jesus Christ is the one who changes the wafer into His own Body and Blood, not man. You may want to speak for Him and say of course, He would consecrate according to YOUR directives, but you have no proof this is true.

Do you want to worship the Soul, Divinity, Body and Blood of Jesus in the Eucharist or would you like instead to worship a plain old rice wafer? Do you want the truth or a lie? People are not unkind or insensitive because they will not accommodate your condition to the point of lying to you. They are showing you respect, which you refuse to acknowledge.

 
Mary
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
29 Jan 2013 1:05:00 PM PST
Our pastor accommodates those that must avoid gluten by first administering to them the chalice containing the Precious Blood.

 
Jamie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Jan 2014 9:27:18 PM PST
Potato flour is a real flour.

 
Joann
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
12 Mar 2014 8:44:19 PM PST
Great comment, Pensieve! Thank you for putting my thoughts into words.

 
Jamie K
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
06 Feb 2013 8:29:54 AM PST
One has to wonder if communion wafers were derived from peanuts because some guy 1000 years ago said they had to be because the Bible says that they ate peanuts at the last supper. Would the Vatican still force people with violent peanut allergies to take peanut containing communion wafers if they wanted to participate in the sacrament? Somehow, after a few people dropped dead in church, I doubt it. Just because untreated or ignored celiac disease is a slow death, it doesn't mean that those of us with celiac disease should be made to suffer needlessly. I really don't think God wants us suffering needlessly in His name. Some people have reactions just from kissing someone who recently ate gluten containing foods. I'm not sipping wine from a chalice wheat eaters are drinking from either. It only takes a miniscule amount of gluten to cause reactions in some of us, meaning a fraction of a fraction of a crumb. This is a perfect example of why I left the Catholic church years ago...

 
Rosemarie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
12 Mar 2013 12:38:33 PM PST
Thank you all for all your comments, which are educating me. I am trying to ensure that our parish can accommodate all people. I have a lot to learn about many differently-abled people, and I thank you for all this information. I was going to order some gluten-free hosts, but now I wonder. What do you all think is the right thing for a Catholic parish to do about this issue?

 
Amazing Grace
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Apr 2013 6:26:49 AM PST
This should not even be an issue. Once again, the church leaders are focusing on the material rather than the spiritual. Even the Rabbis tell celiacs that if they eat gluten-free matzo at Passover they are not obeying the Mitzvah. If following a rule/law is going to do harm to oneself, I don't believe God would expect one to do it. God is so much more understanding and forgiving than those who think they are God's mouthpiece. Thank you, God!

 
Ray Schilling, MD
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 Jun 2013 9:37:41 AM PST
Jesus ate unadulterated historical wheat in the bread that he shared. Since the 1960s, we are eating chemically modified wheat in our breads. Nowadays the gliadin concentration in wheat is 7-fold higher than in Christ's time.
In my medical opinion, gluten-free wafers, once sanctified should be an allowable substitute for regular wavers. In Southern California, both options of wafers (regular and gluten-free) are available in many Catholic churches.
It is time that the Catholic Church adjusts to modern times and incorporates scientific findings.

 
Beth
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
12 Jul 2013 12:00:48 AM PST
I was thinking the same thing about the "wheat" we eat today. If the Vatican were going to eat what Jesus shared they would have to grow their own.

 
RobO
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
03 Jun 2013 10:19:27 AM PST
Super bummed... just found out that the body of Christ gives me explosive diarrhea.

 
Gabrielle
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
06 Aug 2013 10:50:30 AM PST
Is it really surprising anyone that the Catholic church is being uncompassionate, discriminatory, and alienating towards ANOTHER group of people? Because it isn't to me.

 
Katieb
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
11 Aug 2013 10:38:41 AM PST
After recently finding out that those of us who can't take the host, and can't drink from the cross contaminated chalice aren't even welcome to come up for a blessing, well... we are not going to mass anymore. I am appalled that the church we CHOSE in 2003, believing that it was the one, true church is focusing on man made rules, and materialism, legalism and pharasaical hypocrisy over those of us 'lepers' who are not welcome at the table. It's actually a deep, deep feeling of rejection and humiliation now that I have no passion for the church like I used to, but I also can't attend mass with these awful feelings, knowing that THE purpose and culmination of the mass is the Eucharist. The Catholic Church is losing members in droves--99% of kids from our local parish quit the church as soon as they graduate, they had best start looking at the human population making up the church and perhaps think like Jesus and have mercy on those of us living with an affliction that I KNOW Jesus would understand. In fact, I'm pretty darn sure Jesus would never turn my family away from his last supper, telling us were basically out of luck because we can't eat wheat! Wheat in the host is a man-made rule---not divine!!

 
Sally
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
30 Sep 2013 9:42:21 AM PST
Unfortunately, the author of this article either didn't understand the whole story or chose to sensationalize it. If you go back to the original newspaper article you will see that parish had allowed the child to receive non-wheat communion wafers (there are lots of companies out there making them) and when the pastor was reminded that they needed to use the wheat-starch wafers, the child rejected them because she didn't like the way they tasted. The headline and opening of this story suggests that 1) the position of the Catholic Church is that vlg wafers are no longer allowed and 2) that the child was being denied Communion under the species of bread. Neither is true. There is enough pain associated with CD already, we don't need to add to it with inaccurate information.

 
Clare
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
30 Jun 2014 9:01:49 AM PST
Thank you! Good job!

 
Daniel Marsh
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
05 Dec 2013 8:04:30 AM PST
Any stick with which to beat the Catholic church will do, eh? Drink from the cup. It's the same thing, theologically. With the modern age of extraordinary ministers of the eucharist, the cup can be offered at every mass. Just make sure the pastor understands the reason.

Cross-contamination seems like a stretch, but you can also make sure you drink first. Or have the priest place a drop of consecrated wine on a gluten-free host.

 
Katherine
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
07 Mar 2014 9:37:08 AM PST
For those wanting the blood of Jesus make sure you are sitting in a spot in the Church where you can be the first to have the chalice, best from someone like me in the same situation or better yet become an EM and then you have less worry. Looking for catholic church approved wafers trying ordering from the sisters in MO at Altar Breads BSPA.

 
Sharon
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
19 Jun 2014 12:57:16 PM PST
They aren't gluten free hosts, they are low gluten. The internal damage caused by celiac disease is awful; my father died from non-hodgkin lymphoma, which is one of the cancers celiac sufferers are prone to. I also have DH, the separate celiac skin disease. I don't take the host or the wine. I'll have a private conversation with God about it when I get to heaven.

 
victoria

said this on
18 Nov 2014 5:27:38 PM PST
Non celiac here - Just finished attending a Gluten Summit with the latest research. It has been found that only 1 crumb from a crouton can set off an auto immune response from gluten and the effects of that response can last up to 6 months in some. We are not just talking about gut issues here but brain, joints, thyroid... wherever the gluten immune response attacks. For those that have a brain autoimmune disorder that flares up in response to gluten, a small amount of gluten destroys the brain over time. I just can't agree that Jesus would want this in order to protect the "wheat law"...

 
Julie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
30 Nov 2014 6:02:52 PM PST
Jesus has the words of life for they are Spirit and they are life. When we eat of the flesh of the Son of Man we will have life; to eat of the flesh of the Son of Man and drink of his blood is to take on his inner character, His mind, His heart, His divine nature. He sanctifies our minds with His truth and fills our hearts with his merciful love given to us by the shedding of his blood for the forgiveness of sins. We are His body, a consecrated host, with the communion of saints, as His army of love and light. Jesus is perfect love and pure light. He is the Christ, the Word of God come in the flesh. He is risen, He is alive! We receive Him in a great infusion of the Risen Lord who can walk through doors. He is always knocking at the door of our hearts ; let Him in. He wants to sup with us. If one cannot receive the properties of the bread by no fault of their own they can receive His Body and Blood through spiritual communion. All one needs to do is ask. He desires to share His divine nature and His human nature with us as members of the Body of Christ, which shows us the perfection of the Father in heaven. Pray: Christ Jesus come into my heart and the hearts of all your people. Sanctify my mind in your holy words of truth and life; fill my heart and the hearts of all your people with your merciful love given to us through the shedding of your blood for the forgiveness of my sins and the sins of the world. Pour your Spirit upon me and fill us all with your glorious presence that we may live in you as you live in us. May we all be made one in Christ by the Holy Spirit, with the communion of saints. Thank you Father in Jesus' name, Amen. We sometimes engage in petty human arguments, like whether the water Jesus changed into wine is high in alcohol or not. This keeps us from the very "good stuff" God our Father desires to bestow upon us. Seek the Good Stuff! God is Spirit! Christ is anointing; may He give us all a power surge today. "My Lord and my God!" May God abundantly bless all who cannot receive Holy Communion in the Eucharist with the spiritual food that doesn't perish.

 
Lynn
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
13 Jul 2015 8:49:59 AM PST
And for all the stuff going on above is only ONE reason I LEFT the CATHOLIC Church. My choice and I don't regret it. I believe in God, not what some clergy tell me is His Word. I am a celiac and won't touch gluten, therefore no church can tell me what I can and cannot ingest.

 
Laurie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Nov 2015 9:22:26 AM PST
In our parish our priest has a small chalice dedicated for those with gluten intolerance. This is with Church approval. During the Mass a small piece of host is placed in the main chalice along with the wine, not so with the dedicated chalice which is placed on the altar near the main chalice. Also with "gluten free hosts" there is the possibility of cross contamination from handling. For those with severe gluten intolerance the soul the way the body processes gluten is quite separate from the way the soul encounters Our Lord in the Blessed Sacrament. The Church has addressed this problem and considers this to be the safest for those of us who cannot tolerate gluten. The consecrated wine is also the body, blood, soul, and divinity of Our Lord and in this way all can participate.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *: