No popular authors found.

Categories

No categories found.


Join Celiac.com's forum / message board and get your questions answered! Our forum has nearly 1 MILLION POSTS, and over 62,000 MEMBERS just waiting to help you with any questions about celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. We'll see you there!






Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Kellogg's Eggo Waffles Now Gluten-free!

Celiac.com 03/06/2015 - The Kellogg Co. has announced the launch of Eggo Gluten Free Waffles in both original and cinnamon flavors.

Image: Kellogg's Corporation.Coming on the heels of General Mill’s move to take Cheerios gluten-free, the announcement marks the latest move by major cereal manufacturers into the realm of gluten-free products.

Eggo Gluten Free Waffles are available nationwide in the frozen food aisle of grocery stores.

The gluten-free waffles contain eight vitamins and minerals and are considered an excellent source of calcium and iron, with 25% daily value of each. They also contain 15 grams of whole grains per 70-gram serving.

Kellogg's is taking special care to make their new gluten-free waffles "delicious and wholesome," and to avoid the pitfall of gluten-free products which "…sometimes sacrifice taste and texture compared with their original versions," said AnneMarie Suarez-Davis, vice-president of marketing and innovation for Kellogg’s Frozen Foods.

For more information, check out Kelloggs.com.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).



Related Articles




Spread The Word





38 Responses:

 
Claire
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 5:30:26 AM PST
I went to the Kellogg website and found that the Eggo GF waffles contain oat flour, which I don't consider to be gluten free (even the ones that are listed as GF). I'm disappointed.

 
Lee-Anne
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
11 Mar 2015 9:47:10 AM PST
I agree with Claire. I am not able to have oats either. Artificial flavors are also out. By the way, the Cheerios coming out are not using GF oats. Contamination issues??

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
11 Mar 2015 9:47:58 AM PST
Highly doubtful as the liability is just too great.

 
marjean
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
21 Jan 2016 2:19:05 PM PST
I eat gluten free waffles, cheerios, and GF oatmeal for breakfast...and have had no problems. in fact, when I went to the Dr. she said I was extremely healthy and to keep doing what Im doing. some people say not to eat any processed food like peanut butter, etc..Skippy is GF and I eat it on rice cakes every day..so if that makes me bad, then it does.

 
Jefferson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
12 Mar 2015 11:04:15 AM PST
Oats are gluten-free unless cross-contaminated. Some celiacs (about 8%) have adverse reactions to oats. That has nothing to do with gluten. Most celiacs can safely tolerate oats. That's why Kellogg's can label them gluten-free, in accordance with FDA standards.

 
Emilytwinmom
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
29 Apr 2015 8:09:13 AM PST
Me too! I react to oats exactly the same way i react to gluten. Now I have to search everything labeled GF for oats or oat flours.

 
John Peters
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 9:03:26 AM PST
Again, I will say if you care about "gluten" you should care about a product full of harmful preservatives and GMO ingredients. Your promoting a product that still harmful to your health.

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
11 Mar 2015 9:58:07 AM PST
You don't need to eat them John...but many others prefer to have such a choice.

 
Jefferson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
12 Mar 2015 10:49:51 AM PST
We are promoting nothing. We are simply reporting the news.

 
Jefferson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
12 Mar 2015 11:02:03 AM PST
Your comment has nothing to do with gluten. Plenty of products contain preservatives and GMO ingredients. Plenty don't. You are free to choose to avoid anything you don't wish to consume. That doesn't change the fact that Kellogg's Eggo Waffles are now gluten-free.

 
Olinda
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 10:59:16 AM PST
So the Oats and the "Artificial flavorings" are GF also??? There wasn't a place to comment at the site...just the buy me area.

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
09 Mar 2015 11:34:09 AM PST
If you buy the gluten-free labeled version, yes.

 
Julie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 11:38:39 AM PST
Happy to hear that there will be a GF product that is also fortified, as are most wheat products. The one thing that I would have liked to read is whether this product is certified GF (which I interpret to mean that they use dedicated equipment, etc., to avoid all cross contamination for celiac patients). Can that assumption be made when a large national brand introduces a GF product, or am I just making an @$$ out of myself?

 
Dee
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Mar 2015 10:46:51 PM PST
Here is the response I got from Kellog regarding my daughter getting sick every time she ate these, where they flat out state they can not guarantee their oats are free from gluten contamination...if you cant guarantee it then its NOT GF!
We will not trust any Kellog GF products now...

Dee,
We are so glad you took the time to connect with us. Your interest in Kellogg's® Eggo® Gluten Free waffles - Original is appreciated and we are happy to share more information about Gluten with you.

Oats are considered a gluten-free food, but our oats may contain gluten as a result of cross-contamination with other gluten-containing grains during processing. All of our Gluten Free products and manufacturing facilities that produce Gluten Free products undergo a comprehensive assessment and qualification to ensure compliance to regulations regarding labeling gluten free foods. Products tested gluten-free must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

I am so sorry to hear about your daughter becoming ill after comsuming these. I hope you are able to find another one of our deliciouse products for her. The ingredient list on each package will always show if the product contains Oats or Oat flour. Below are some of the options we have available, however as ingredients can change, please be sure to always read the nutrtion label.

• Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal made with whole grain brown rice<
• Kellogg's® Fruit Flavored Snacks<
• Kellogg's® Special K® Breakfast Shakes<


Thank you again. We hope this information answers your question completely. If there is anything else we can help you with, please contact us again by calling 1-800-962-1413. You can also visit us online at www.kelloggs.com to learn more about our foods and determine which ones would work best for you.

If you have additional comments or a photo to send to us, click here.
Please do not use your “reply” button to respond to this e-mail. Replies to this message are routed to an unmonitored mailbox.

Sincerely,

Jamie B.
Consumer Specialist
Consumer Affairs

028347246A

Dee wrote:
Is the oat flour that is in your gluten free waffles made from uncontaminated oats? My Celiac daughter was so excited to try these..unfortunately EVERY time she eats them she gets sick.. She usually avoids oats, however we decided to try the product since it was labeled gluten free,,we assumed the oat flour was made from safe oats..I'm tending to think it was not...

 
Jean
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
28 Aug 2015 9:13:15 AM PST
Glad to hear straight from the horse's mouth. I just popped some in the oven, now I'm scared to eat them. I really don't want a hypoglycemic attack again. At least Glutino's is safe and their waffles taste just as great as I remember regular Eggo's tasting. Thought I'd try something slightly newer for a change. So much for stepping out of the safety net of familiarity.

 
R. Borg
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 12:07:49 PM PST
I don't trust major brands that get on the GF band wagon to be truly GF. They certainly aren't manufactured in a dedicated facility, so what steps are taken to ensure GF without cross contamination.

 
Pam
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 12:23:28 PM PST
I tried them and they were EXCELLENT!

 
Gluten-Buster!

said this on
09 Mar 2015 12:38:12 PM PST
They are not gluten free, the oats are the problem. Oats have too much cross contamination! One brand of oats that claim to be gluten free because they are always walking though the field to make sure there is no wheat growing in the field. HA, what a joke, we called the company and the reason why they always walk through the fields to make sure there is no wheat growing is because they grow wheat in those very fields in the off-season! Which means there are traces of wheat in the very soil those oats are growing in. My Mother is a sensitive celiac and she tried those oats and got so sick afterwards.

BOTTOM LINE: OATS ARE NOT GLUTEN FREE EVEN IF THEY ARE LABELED SUCH.

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
11 Mar 2015 9:56:09 AM PST
This is not true--oats are gluten-free unless they are cross-contaminated. These companies have a way to remove all non-oat grains from their oats, thus remove cross-contamination. Do you really believe that they are not carefully testing each batch?

 
Jefferson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
12 Mar 2015 10:48:07 AM PST
If the product is labeled "gluten-free," it must contain less than 20ppm gluten, and meet the FDA standard for gluten-free. That would apply to any added oats.

 
Jean
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
28 Aug 2015 9:16:07 AM PST
There are plenty of celiac sufferers who still react to less than 20ppm, the problem is they are unable to test for any smaller trace than that. Oats CAN be certified as gluten free though if the equipment is all new and the field where it's planted has laid fallow for 4 years and has been thoroughly inspected in that time. They cannot be used as a rotation crop in order to be certified gluten free.

 
Jefferson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
12 Mar 2015 10:59:06 AM PST
You are simply wrong. Oats are gluten-free unless contaminated. It is true that about 8% of people with celiac disease have an adverse reaction to oats, but this is a separate intolerance. Given that major manufacturers must meet FDA labeling standards, and could be sued for contaminating people, I'm going to imagine that they will make sure they will provide a product that is gluten-free. If you have actual scientific evidence to the contrary, please present it.

 
Anne
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 2:06:48 PM PST
If a product is labeled GF and contains oats, do labeling laws specify that they must use certified GF oats?

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
11 Mar 2015 9:52:48 AM PST
No.

 
karen b
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 3:01:21 PM PST
If xanthan gum and or guar gum + preservatives are in them I can't eat them.

 
john j acres
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2015 3:51:16 PM PST
Two ingredients concern me: sodium 260mg and oat flour.

 
John Taylor

said this on
09 Mar 2015 4:34:49 PM PST
Pure oat grain is gluten free. However oats can be contaminated with wheat due to crop rotation. This doesn't happen very often but it does happen. The came is true for corn. Bob's Red Mill Oat Flour is gluten free always as they buy from farmers who do not rotate with Wheat, Barley, or Rye...and it costs more. The gluten free Eggo's cost only 10 cents more than the regular, so they must be using "normal oat flour." I suspect 1 in 10 boxes will have a trace of gluten. That is what I find with Kellogg's corn chex.

Unfortunately, the Eggo's contain soybean oil. I am intolerant to that also. Many people who are gluten intolerant are also soy intolerant...so sooner or later Kellogg's will take out the soy also.

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
11 Mar 2015 9:51:58 AM PST
So you are saying that you scientifically test each box of Chex you eat, and 1 in 10 are not gluten-free?? I doubt this, as the liability for these companies is way too high.

 
Jefferson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
12 Mar 2015 10:53:14 AM PST
You "suspect 1 in 10 boxes will have a trace of gluten?" Based on what? Do you send samples to a reputable lab?

 
Aisha
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
10 Mar 2015 7:34:31 PM PST
very happy with the Eggo Gluten free waffle.

 
Joe
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
16 Mar 2015 12:38:50 PM PST
My daughter has celiac and we tried these new waffles to give her something "normal" but by lunch time she was complaining about stomach pain. As it was the only thing different in her regular meal items, we highly suspect these waffles do contain gluten.

 
Jefferson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
18 Mar 2015 11:38:21 AM PST
Thanks for your comment. As always, it is important to gauge your own intolerance level, or those of your kids, in this case, to determine what works best for your body. About 8% of celiacs experience an adverse reaction when eating oats. As for the idea that the waffles contain gluten, I would be highly surprised if that were true. Kellogg's has invested large sums of money to create a gluten-free supply chain for this product, and the potential liability would likely pressure them to get it right. I would be on an oat intolerance, though you might need to talk with a doctor or sort it out through an elimination diet.

 
Pedro
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
05 Jun 2015 4:17:00 AM PST
The oats in this product are certified GF to 10ppm. Waffles tested undetectable

 
Renee Huber
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
14 Jun 2015 9:38:58 PM PST
Too bad Kellogg's is not selling gluten free Rice Krispies any more. Frustrating when you find a product that is good and my celiac granddaughter could eat--and now is not available.

 
Arlene
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
05 Jul 2015 10:17:35 AM PST
My daughter has celiac. She ate these waffles and became very ill. She only had the waffles with butter. She was diagnosed at the age of 3 and is now 19 years old so we are very familiar with her reactions when she eats something containing gluten. Please do not label gluten free if they are NOT gluten free.

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
06 Jul 2015 10:23:51 AM PST
If you purchased their "gluten-free" waffles it is highly doubtful that they contained any gluten.

 
kyle kilian
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
02 Sep 2015 3:45:30 AM PST
They tasted great, until the stomach pains started! Worse pains I have had in 4 years of being gluten free.

 
Katplus4@gmail.com
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Sep 2016 6:01:27 AM PST
I had these waffles, the only thing out of the ordinary that I ate yesterday and today I am SO sick! Feel horrible. They are NOT gluten free please be careful if you are a true celiac sufferer.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *: