No popular authors found.

Categories

No categories found.


Join Celiac.com's forum / message board and get your questions answered! Our forum has nearly 1 MILLION POSTS, and over 62,000 MEMBERS just waiting to help you with any questions about celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. We'll see you there!






Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Storied Czech Brewery Quietly Brews Great Gluten-free Dark Beer


Photo: CC--Jim Kelly

Celiac.com 07/29/2016 - There's a great little story by Pete Brown about his visit to the Zatec brewery in the Czech Republic. Officially known as Zatecky Pivovar, but called Zatec, the brewery offers both an interesting war history, and a great dark beer that just happens to be gluten-free.

Zatec makes both their main brand, the light 11° pilsner, and another brand called Celia Dark. The company used to make a dark beer called Xantho, but now sells only Celia Dark as their main dark beer because, says Martin Kec, managing director, "no one can tell the difference."

Most gluten-free beers are made with non-barley grains, such as sorghum, which is naturally gluten-free. The problem is that many of these beverages cannot be considered beer under German law, and many don't taste all that great either.

But Celia is brewed with barley, just like normal beer, then de-glutenised with the addition of a special enzyme that breaks down the gluten molecules, binds to them and sinks to the bottom of the fermentation tank, where it is then filtered out before bottling.

Rather than thinking of it as a gluten-free beer, says Martin, it's more useful to describe it as a great beer that just happens to be gluten-free.

Read more in the Morning Advertiser.co.uk.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).



Related Articles




Spread The Word





4 Responses:

 
Dan
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 Aug 2016 5:43:11 AM PST
Isn't this just another Omission then? A beer that is not totally gluten-free, but has its ppm numbers below a certain threshold? If so, it is still dangerous for those whose celiac is very sensitive.

 
Heather
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 Aug 2016 7:37:41 AM PST
Mistakes happen. Not sure I'd be willing to take the risk on any beer made with gluten ingredients on the faith that all the gluten has been removed every time with no error. Not worth it.

 
Jill
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
01 Aug 2016 8:07:07 AM PST
I wonder what the ppm count is and if it would pass North America's more stringent levels.

 
Jerry
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
02 Aug 2016 12:21:15 PM PST
I only drink REDBRIDGE, has a great taste.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *: