(Celiac.com 03/17/2000) Under the new FDA rules (effective in 2000), consumers will get more information about the sources of protein hydrolysates in their food. Hydrolyzed proteins are added to foods to serve various functions, including thickeners, flavorings and flavor enhancers, and they pose a major problem for people on special diets. From now on food makers will have to declare the source of added hydrolyzed proteins. The new laws state that the source of all protein hydrolysates--regardless of use--will now have to be identified. Further, caseinate will have to be identified as a milk derivative in the ingredient statement when its used in foods that claim to be non-dairy. According to the FDA these new requirements will help people who have special diet restrictions.

As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).