- Safe Gluten-Free Food List (Safe Ingredients)
- Unsafe Gluten-Free Food List (Unsafe Ingredients)
- Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
- Celiac Disease Symptoms
- The Gluten-Free Diet 101 - A Beginner's Guide to Going Gluten-Free
- Interpretation of Celiac Disease Blood Test Results
- Is Buckwheat Flour Really Gluten-Free?
Petition to FDA to Disclose Barley and Rye Ingredients on Food Labels
- By Hallie Davis
- Published 03/25/2009
I am a retired Doctor of Optometry after practicing for 20 years. I have monoclonal gammopathy (paraproteinemia), limited systemic scleroderma, Hashimoto's thyroiditis, obstructive sleep apnea, beginning neuropathy, and have just been found to have the celiac HLA type: DQ8.
Back in September of 2008, I submitted a petition to FDA to include rye and barley in the list of most common allergens which must be disclosed on packaging. Right now, only wheat has to be disclosed, but as we all know the gluten of rye and barley is just as offensive to celiacs as that of wheat. So to include wheat in the list, without including rye and barley was nonsensical. The list needs to be amended so that rye and barley sources are also disclosed.
Without this disclosure, such things as "modified food starch", "flavor," "natural flavor" and other ambiguous ingredients may be derived from
I hope you will go there, and read my petition, and leave a comment in favor of it for the FDA's consideration. The more positive comments we get stored in FDA's database, the sooner we are likely to get action on this.
As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).