Since most Mexican food is naturally gluten-free, having a gluten-free Cinco De Mayo is not difficult. Watch out for additives and spices that may contain gluten. However,  tortillas present the biggest problem. You will want to make sure to use gluten-free tortillas made from corn, rice or other gluten-free grains.
Gluten-Free Tortillas, Taquitos & Burritos

 If you plan on going to a Mexican restaurant, make sure you are prepared. The Allergy Free Passport is a  wonderful pocket guide that can help you make educated decisions when eating out.
Allergy Free Passport/Mexican Food
 
Triumph Dining Cards also take the guesswork out of eating out. Triumph Dining Cards help you help the chef understand what your needs are.
Triumph Dining Cards/Mexican Food

You may want to make your own gluten-free Mexican food for Cinco De Mayo. If you need a little help, check out the following video. The easy to follow recipes are gluten-free as well as dairy-free, for those on a more restricted diet:
Gluten-free Mexican Cooking DVD


Happy Gluten-Free Cinco De Mayo!







As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).