Jelly Belly Candy Co. of Fairfield, CA is recalling Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix “Gluten Free” candies, because the malted milk balls in the mix contain wheat.
 
The recall only affects 2.7 oz. bags with UPC 071567992794, which have lot codes 111111, 111215, and 120120. They are marked with “best before” dates of January 11, 2013, February 15, 2013, and March 20, 2013 respectively.
 
Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and triticale. A gluten-free diet is a treatment from celiac disease, a condition in which the digestion of gluten causes damage to the inner surface of the small intestine and an inability to absorb certain nutrients.
 
“Undeclared allergens were the leading cause of FDA food recalls in 2011, but food allergen testing can prevent costly market withdrawals,” states Joy Dell’Aringa, M.S., RM (NRM), CFSP, National Food Microbiology Supervisor at EMSL Analytical, one of the nation’s leading commercial testing laboratories. “EMSL offers extensive food allergen testing, including gluten, total milk, soy, peanut, egg, almond, crustacean, and many others.”

Source:

As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).