I was diagnosed with celiac disease in late February after a life long struggle with digestive issues. I am in an exploratory phase with food right now. I have found that many of my old favorite recipes are pleasantly converted to gluten free and have proudly toted my gluten free alternatives to many a covered dish gatherings with rave reviews. The diet however has many challenges and it helps to read through websites like these to see how others handle situations.
Don't take my strawberries! (Are Strawberries Gluten-Free when Grown in Wheat Straw?)
- By Kimberly McGowan
- Published 06/11/2008
I have been reading articles that say that people with celiac shouldn't consume strawberries due to the fact that they are grown in straw. I picked strawberries with my children yesterday and I asked the local grower what type of straw they used and sure enough it was wheat straw. I have eaten strawberries and had not had a reaction, but after knowing this, I didn't eat any of the ones that we picked. I intend to look into this situation and I will keep you posted as to what I find out.
As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).