Don't take my strawberries! (Are Strawberries Gluten-Free when Grown in Wheat Straw?)
- By Kimberly McGowan
- Published 06/11/2008
I was diagnosed with celiac disease in late February after a life long struggle with digestive issues. I am in an exploratory phase with food right now. I have found that many of my old favorite recipes are pleasantly converted to gluten free and have proudly toted my gluten free alternatives to many a covered dish gatherings with rave reviews. The diet however has many challenges and it helps to read through websites like these to see how others handle situations.
I have been reading articles that say that people with celiac shouldn't consume strawberries due to the fact that they are grown in straw. I picked strawberries with my children yesterday and I asked the local grower what type of straw they used and sure enough it was wheat straw. I have eaten strawberries and had not had a reaction, but after knowing this, I didn't eat any of the ones that we picked. I intend to look into this situation and I will keep you posted as to what I find out.
As always, Celiac.com welcomes your comments (see below).