- Safe Gluten-Free Food List (Safe Ingredients)
- Unsafe Gluten-Free Food List (Unsafe Ingredients)
- Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
- Celiac Disease Symptoms
- The Gluten-Free Diet 101 - A Beginner's Guide to Going Gluten-Free
- Interpretation of Celiac Disease Blood Test Results
- Is Buckwheat Flour Really Gluten-Free?
Oats and Celiac Disease: Are They Gluten-Free?
This category contains articles that cover the safety of oats in the gluten-free diet. It is now generally accepted that non-contaminated gluten-free oats are safe for a celiac disease diet, with the exception of a small minority of celiacs who may have an additional intolerance to Avenin.
Some people with celiac disease want to make sure their oats are gluten-free. A few extra steps can help.
According to test samples, gluten-free oat products are almost three times more likely to be contaminated with gluten than other gluten-free products.
Have scientists finally figured out the oat proteins that trigger adverse immune reactions in some people with celiac disease?
The answer to the "oats questions" are becoming clearer. The long-asked question is "Can people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity safely eat oats?" Some people are so sensitive, that even the tiniest bit of gluten makes them feel unwell. So this answer is important because people on a gluten-free diet should not restrict foods unnecessarily.
Australian researchers recently showed that oats do trigger an adverse immune response in some people with celiac disease.
Experts have decreed that pure oats are safe for people with celiac disease. The definition of this disease is based on a very specific type of injury to the intestinal wall that heals following the removal of gluten from the diet. This intestinal damage, called villous atrophy, is caused by the interaction between the immune system and certain proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley.
According to the latest European research, pure oats are safe for most people with celiac disease, and contamination is the main problem facing people with celiac disease who wish to eat oats.