Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    






- - - - -

Is All Wine Gluten Free?

Posted by NewMom, 07 November 2007 · 28,669 views

I was wondering if someone could help me. I am still learning about the do's and don'ts of this disease and thought that all wine was gluten free. Last night I had two glasses of Yellow Tail chardonney and woke up at 12:30 AM in so much pain I actually vomitted. This is not the first time that I have had this reaction to wine. Can someone tell me if there are only specific types of wine I can drink? Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!

  • 0



The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you ate with the wine that made you sick?

http://www.celiac.co...ages/Page1.html
    • 0
Thanks for the link.
The only thing that I ate with the wine was Michael Season's Gluten Free Cheddar Cheese Curls. The product backs the fact that they are gluten free.
Sometimes I feel like this is such a guessing game!

The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you ate with the wine that made you sick?

http://www.celiac.co...ages/Page1.html

    • 0

The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you ate with the wine that made you sick?

http://www.celiac.co...ages/Page1.html


I too had 3 glasses of Yellow Tail wine a couple of days ago and I too became so sick, vomitting, for three days! It was really really weird, I was very mystified by my reaction to the wine. I feel there is some colour or flavouring in the wine. This is not my usual reaction to wine, as I also had 3 glasses of wine the week before, with absolutely no reaction.
    • 0
I know this is an old thread, but I was browsing, looking to see about gluten free wines, and came across your question.

I just wanted to say about wine, tonight I made stew and used red wine in the sauce. I had no more than finished eating than my stomach started to feel nauseated, and I ended up in the bathroom with the most painful cramps.........lasted four hours. The ONLY thing that I had in that stew that was in question was the wine. So I looked it up, and it says all wine is gluten free. Then in another place I found that yeast is made of barley and there is yeast in wine my husband says. also I read that the barrels might not be gluten free, and last, they sometimes use additives. All I know is, I had a terrible reaction from the wine, and on the bottle they did not list even ONE ingredient, not even the word grape was on the bottle. So I have no idea what was in the wine.....
    • 0
I've looked at several sites and posts about wines....I'm new to the gluten-free diet and am just starting to figure things out. When I found out that some hard ciders were not gluten free, I decided to check out the wines too....

Nea, I really appreciated your post - especially the info about the barley, barrels and such. Consequently I emailed Carlo Rossi, inc...they just happened to be the makers of the wine in my current wine box . Their response is posted below. Because of the above posts, the letter from Carlo Rossi, and that Yellow Tail is an Australian wine brand, I've come to the conclusion that US wines are most likely gluten free, but imported varietals may not be worth the risk. The next time I visit my local wineries I'll be certain to ask some detailed questions!

Cheers!

Here's the email from Carlo Rossi:

"Thank you for contacting us. We appreciate your interest in Carlo Rossi Winery.

In response to your inquiry, all of the wines and champagnes produced by E. & J. Gallo Winery in the United States are in compliance with the Food and Drug Administration’s current proposed rule defining the term “gluten-free”, which means the products contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

We hope this information is helpful and appreciate you giving us this opportunity to answer your question. It is our further hope you will continue to enjoy our fine products for many more years to come.

Sincerely,

Carlo Rossi Winery
Consumer Information Center"
    • 0
i know this post is REALLY old but isn't there a (seemingly) new discovery of the sulfites in wine making some people sick? i think i've now seen sulfite-free wine, or at least they list "contains sulfites" on some labels...
    • 0
I'm so glad I came across this post as I am trying to figure out the wine issue when it comes to gluten and my allergy. I know that many websites will say that all wine is most likely gluten free, but "most-likely" doesn't do it for me. I am about one week into my gluten-free diet and had a glass of Mark West Pinot Noir which immediately made me sick. I contacted them and they provided the following response:

Hi Chris,

This is the best answer I could get for you.

Most of our wine is not made here as we purchase some wine from other
companies and mix them here to create our own wine. TTB is a government
agency that does not allow wine producers to add gluten to wines but
that does not guarantee that gluten has not been added to the wine we
use. We cannot confirm whether or not those wines have been stored in
barrels that were sealed with a flour paste and we do not test the wine
itself for any gluten so we do not have any way of knowing if our wines
contain gluten or not.

I hope this helps somewhat.

Thank you,

Monica

So, the jury seems to be out here, which doesn't make me feel good since I'm going to Italy for my honeymoon. Maybe I am having these reactions since I am still in the early recovery stages, but would welcome anyone else's experiences.

Thanks!
    • 0
Today I found out that wheat flour caulked barrels is not the only possible gluten contamination of wine. Some wineries add to the wine something called a "fining agent" to clarify and stabilize the wine. Wheat gluten isolate is one of the fining agents that is sometimes used! I think we need to develop a list of wineries that NEITHER use such caulked barrels, NOR a wheat gluten isolate fining agent!
    • 0
FYI - see YellowTail website on the gluten content of their wines - they say that their wine is not gluten free.http://www.yellowtai...o-facts-amp-faq
    • 0
I looked at the Yellow Tail web site today and it says they ARE gluten free. I looked three times just to make sure I was not seeing things. Does anyone know if they have changed something to make them gluten free?
    • 0

The list on the link below says that all wines are gluten-free. Maybe it was something that you ate with the wine that made you sick?

http://www.celiac.co...ages/Page1.html

Austrailian Chardonnay. Have not found one that does not make me feel "glutenized"/as in terrible. Yellow Tail and McWillams are the two i have problems with. Have not tried any others. Not worth it.
    • 0

November 2014

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728 29
30      

Recent Entries

Recent Comments