Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

  • entries
    19
  • comments
    3
  • views
    21,120

About this blog

New gluten-free lists

Entries in this blog

amandasmommy2
At my experience on working at these places and observing employies, I myself will NOT order anything from any of those places. Sure it is nice to wear gloves while preparing foods, but have you accually notices when they make order to order? those gloves do not come off. Therefore, when it comes time to make your gluten-free foods, all the food made from the customers befor you that have gluten crumbs in them are still on their gloves. So, when you order gluten-free, your food WILL be contaminated.

Same for when you order gluten-free fries in a gluten-free oil vat. There are other vats next to the gluten-free one. I.E. the oil from the non-gluten-free foods are splashing into your gluten-free vat.

Pizza places - I know from talking to my pizza restaurants that yes they do serve gluten-free foods. BUT, pizza is made from flour. In my experience from working at pizza places, I know the flour gets everywhere, on hands, gloves and in the air. So, gluten-free products at pizza joints are NOT gluten-free to me.

this in my opinion and therefore my family will NOT be ordering out or going to any fast food/restaurants anymore. I will not take any chances on making my little girl (now ten) sick anymore. I have been doing very good at keeping her gluten free since we found out she has celiac disease I am not gonna make her sick anymore and have told my relatives and friends house not to do the same with her. I will not outlive my little girl due to someone elses mistakes.

Thank You
Joanie
amandasmommy2

Taco Bell

Specialties
Tostada



Taco Salads
Fiesta Taco Salad (Order Chicken instead of Beef; order without the shell and without the Red Strips)
Express Taco Salad (order Chicken instead of Beef)



Sides
Pintos N' Cheese
Mexican Rice



Condiments and Sauces
Avocado Ranch Dressing
Border Sauce - Fire
Border Sauce - Hot
Border Sauce - Mild
Creamy Jalapeno Sauce
Fiesta Salsa
Fire Roasted Salsa
Guacamole
Pepper Jack Sauce
Pizza Sauce
Red Sauce
Reduced Fat Sour Cream
Salsa
Salsa Verde
amandasmommy2

Starbucks

[b]Gluten-Free Beverages at Starbucks[/b]

We can start with water: unsurprisingly, Starbucks' Ethos bottled water is gluten-free. In addition, the shops usually have some pure fruit juices that should be safe. Several bottled Starbucks-labeled drinks, including Starbucks Frappuccino, Starbucks Doubleshot and Starbucks Doubleshot Energy, are considered gluten-free to at least 20 parts per million, according to customer service.

However, you should check the label of anything you're considering purchasing to make sure it explicitly states "gluten-free," since ingredients can change at any time. (I don't worry about the water, but I'd definitely check anything else.)

As I said, the company discourages anyone with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity from ordering an espresso or blended drink prepared behind the counter.

However, I've found that plain coffee drinks (espresso or brewed coffee) are gluten-free to well below 20 parts per million (based on my own reactions or lack thereof, not on any objective testing). I've also had good (but not perfect) luck with milk-based drinks such as cappuccinos and lattes. Occasionally I do feel like I've gotten one that's slightly cross-contaminated, but that hasn't stopped me from drinking them. (For more information on coffee and gluten, check out Is Coffee Gluten-Free?)lots of people who follow the gluten-free diet report gastrointestinal symptoms from coffee.

If you avoid dairy, Starbucks' soy milk (the company's own house brand) is considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, according to the baristas. Be aware that the baristas do use the same steaming wand to steam both soy and regular milk, so if you react badly to either, you may want to stick with plain coffee or espresso.

If you're a tea drinker, Starbucks offers Tazo teas. Four Tazo flavors contain gluten: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger and Tea Lemonade. In addition, because the same tongs are used to dispense all tea bags at Starbucks, you risk cross-contamination by ordering tea there. When I want tea, I ask for a cup of plain hot water and use my own tea bag.

[b]Gluten-Free Food at Starbucks[/b]

It can be discouraging for those of us who follow the gluten-free diet to ogle the bakery case and know there's nothing in there for us. (The company's foray into gluten-free bakery products several years ago didn't go well, and Starbucks hasn't tried again.)

However, most Starbucks branches do carry one or two products that are labeled gluten-free. For example, at various times I've seen packages of Food Should Taste Good chips (those are certified gluten-free), KIND snack bars (all considered gluten-free) and Lucy's Cookies (also certified gluten-free).

Sadly, none of the prepared meal options are considered gluten-free, including the salads (which could be made in a safe manner, but currently aren't).

The bottom line: If you're starving and just looking for a quick snack, you probably can find one at Starbucks. But don't expect anything more than that (and definitely don't expect a yummy gluten-free pastry to go with your plain coffee).


[b]What About Flavored Coffee - Is That Gluten-Free?[/b]

Coffee beans or ground coffee that you buy pre-flavored (those yummy-sounding flavors like chocolate hazelnut and almond toffee crunch) are likely to be considered gluten-free, and may even be labeled "gluten-free."

But that's not the end of the story.

Coffee flavorings generally are made with a proprietary blend of "natural flavors." Despite a well-justified fear of that term on labels (since it can hide gluten-containing ingredients, most commonly barley-based flavorings), it appears we don't need to worry about "natural flavors" in this context
amandasmommy2

Red Robin

[url="http://www.google.com/aclk?sa=l&ai=COC2uxIWAUIbqKYj36AGX4YGYB6Leq9ECyqjpjyaMotqlOwgAEAEg7YrfBlCI_umeAWDJ_pSM0KT0D6AB7L6k7wPIAQGqBCFP0Ox04UYJkoCky-TMgWFv3lBoLzMGduF0aO5Em8lJf0KABZBO&sig=AOD64_3x5jOaScIVxWYuVmMI158kyt-viA&ved=0CB4Q0Qw&adurl=http://redrobin.com/pdf/Wheat_Gluten_Allergen_Menu.pdf&rct=j&frm=1&q=red+robin+gluten+free+menu"]Red Robins PDF gluten-free form[/url]
amandasmommy2

Quizno's Subs

[url="http://(Company Name Removed - They Spammed This Forum and are Banned).com/Quizno_s_Gluten_Free_Menu.html"]My link[/url]here is thier website to download a gluten-free menu. Just click on, click here for complete allergen info from their site.


Here is what Quizno's lists as items that don't contain gluten:

Salads & Dressings
Chopped Salad (w/o Dressing)

Dressings
Butermilk Ranch
Reduced Fat Butermilk Ranch
Fat Free Balsamic
Honey Mustard
Peppercorn Caesar

Side Dish
Fruit Parfait with Yogurt

NOTE: THEIR ALLERGEN INFORMATION LISTS THE ITALIAN BULLET AS GLUTEN FREE. CHECKING ON GOOGLE IT APPEARS TO BE A SHORT SUB THAT WOULD NOT BE GLUTEN FREE. PLEASE CHECK WITH QUIZNO'S BEFORE ORDERING.
amandasmommy2

Dominos Pizza

While Domino's new Gluten Free Crust is appropriate for those with mild gluten sensitivity, Domino's and the NFCA do not recommend it for those with celiac disease. Domino's and the NFCA found that while the crust is certified as gluten free, current store operations at Domino's cannot guarantee that each handcrafted pizza will be completely free from gluten.

In short, because the gluten-free crust is made in a facility where there is gluten present (like in the ovens), the company doesn't recommend the crust for those with severe cases of celiac disease.
amandasmommy2

Papa John's Pizza

PapaJohns only offers pizza and breadsticks as of 12/09/02 and
offers no other menu selections that could possibly be gluten-free
[b]IT APPEARS THAT NO MENU SELECTIONS ARE GLUTEN-FREE[/b]
amandasmommy2

Olive Garden

Salads
Garden Fresh Salad without croutons
Caesar Salad without croutons



Entrees
Pennine Rigate with Marinara
Marinara sauce made with a blend of tomatoes, bell peppers, onions and Italian herbs. Served over gluten free penne pasta.

Steak Toscano
Grilled 12 oz choice center cut Strip steak brushed with Italian herbs and extra-virgin olive oil. Served with grilled vegetables.

Herb-Grilled Salmon
Salmon filet brushed with Italian herbs and extra-virgin olive oil. Served with broccoli and red bell peppers.

Mixed Grill
Skewers of grilled steak and chicken marinated in Italian herbs and extra-virgin olive oil. Served with broccoli and grilled vegetables.

Mixed Grill (all chicken)
Skewered chicken marinated in Italian herbs and extra-virgin olive oil. Served with broccoli and grilled vegetables.

Kids' Grilled Chicken
Grilled chicken breast served with broccoli and grilled vegetables.
amandasmommy2
Mesquite Grilled Steaks and Chicken
order without seasoning or lemon butter

Mesquite Grilled Shrimp and Salmon
order without seasoning or marinade

Burgers & Sandwiches
order without a bun, fries or seasoning




Sides
Baked Potato
order without sour cream

Baked Sweet Potato
order without cinnamon

Salad
order without dressing (vinegar and oil is available), croutons, or tortilla chips
amandasmommy2

Ihop

This is the link to see their gluten-free lists http://www.ihop.com/contact-us

choose on the left allergen info. click on VIEW HERE. it will give you a PDF form to download to your computer.
amandasmommy2

Kfc

[b]KFC Lists the Following Items as Gluten Free[/b]

Caesar Side Salad w/o Dressing & Croutons
House Side Salad w/o Dressing
Hidden Valley