Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

mcalister14

Advanced Members
  • Content count

    29
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About mcalister14

  • Rank
    Community Member

Contact Methods

  • ICQ
    0
  1. Thanks! I've been wondering about certain drugs recently since it's that time of year when we're all sick. Great comprehensive list!! Stacy
  2. Wal-Mart brand of tomato paste (Great Value) is gluten-free. It says it on the can. Stacy
  3. I swear by The Gluten Free Kitchen! I have several different cookbooks but this one is my favorite. I haven't made the biscuts yet, but I will now. Everything I've tried from this book has been a success. The pizza crust and choc. chip cookies are awesome. I get so excited when a recipe is good!!! Stacy
  4. Here are the ingredients for the Crystal soy sauce Hydrolyzed soybean and corn protein, Water, Corn Syrup, Salt, Caramel color Since we are away from home I'm having to make some different adjustments. (I'm sure everyone can relate to that!) Of course i have the safe food at home. I'll probably just go to the store and get some La Choy. Thanks for the help everyone. Stacy
  5. Does anyone know if Crystal soy sauce is gluten-free? This is from Baumer Foods. We are currently away from home and staying with relatives for the weekend. I've looked on their website and didn't find anything. I've also forgot what mainline brand is gluten-free. We are in a small town with a little grocery store (no health food store). Thank you for any help!!! Stacy
  6. I'm so excited about this!!! Happy day!
  7. I would LOVE a copy! Thank you for being sooo generous! My email is smcalister@centurytel.net Stacy
  8. Gf?

    Hi Ann, I've read that all Arbor Mist wine is safe. My husband is the celiac of the house and he loves all Arbor Mist. He has never been sick from it. I totally understand about being a former beer drinker. The wine is kind of a nice change that is taking some getting used to. Stacy
  9. I can't wait to try it!! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
  10. Hello. I might have some input to your question. I'm a CT/MRI technologist. The reaction you're explaining is extremely common. Many people have a allergy to the iodine contrast that is used in CatScan. It is common for people to get a rash or hives, tightness in their chest, and sometimes more severe. Your doctor was following protocol when he medicated you prior to the next CT after you had that reaction. If you ever have another test involving iodinated contrast (CT or myelogram), alarm them before hand of this allergy because it doesn't go away. You would be safe to have the MRI contrast though since it does not contain iodine. It is a water based contrast called gadolinium. Back to your question...I have read articles before that states CT contrast is gluten free. And just this week I was reading "Dangerous Grains" by Dr. Braly and Dr. Hoggan that states on pg. 43, "Dermatitis herpetiformis lesions often develop following exposure to sunlight or iodine." Very interesting. As I mentioned earlier I've witnessed many reactions like yours. This doen't mean that all those people have this condition. I tend to think that since you have this condition you are more likely to this type of reaction. Hope this helps and you continue to feel better by being gluten free. Stacy
  11. My husband, which has celiac disease, had the same problem. During his small intestine biopsy they were able to view his esophagus. They found he had GERD. For 3 months he took Prilosec which healed the serious damage. He feels so much better now. I also recommend getting a scope of your esophagus. It's a simple procedure. His GI Dr. informed us this is not related to celiac disease. Have a good day, Stacy
  12. Since we are on the topic of cross-contamination, I have a quick question. Is it necessary to buy new pots and pans if they were once used to cook gluten foods in? They appear to be in good shape still, but is it possible that gluten could be in the Teflon? Stacy
  13. I've tried the "beer can chicken" with soda. And I was so surprised that it tasted really well. I used Coke or Pepsi. I actually got the idea from friends that were non celiacs. Hope it works for you as well. Stacy
  14. Thank you so much for checking into things. I'm so happy with the answers you've told me. I've only been at this for a few months now and I'm still learning every day. There is a lot to keep straight. I've said it before and now I'll say it again...This message board has absolutely been a lifesaver! Thank you everyone!! Stacy
  15. Do the same rules apply for tuna? I just looked on a can and it contains vegetable broth. Stacy