Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

JustThisGuy

Members
  • Content count

    2
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About JustThisGuy

  • Rank
    New Community Member
  1. Hey there, I recently read that Milkway Midnight bars are safe, so I ran over to the shop and bought one, only to note later that the packaging was subtly different, the bar was called a Milky Way Midnight Dark, and the description reads "Rich, DARK, Chocolate. Golden Caramel. Vanilla Nougat." instead of "Bold, Rich Chocolate. Golden Caramel. Vanilla Nougat." I thought, ehn, its a minor packaging difference, its probably the same thing, but I checked the ingredients list just to be safe. And it turns out the ingredients lists are subtly different as well. Milkyway Midnight reads: Semisweet Chocolate (sugar, chocolate processed with alkali, cocoa butter, chocolate, milk fat, soy lecithin, vanilla extract, artificial and natural flavors), corn syrup, sugar, skim milk, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, less than 2% - Butter, milk fat, lactose, salt, egg whites, soy protein, vanilla extract, artificial flavor. Milkyway Midnight Dark reads:Semisweet Chocolate (Sugar, chocolate processed with alkali, cocoa butter, milk fat, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavors), corn syrup, sugar, hydrogenated palm kernel oil and/or palm oil, skim milk, less than 2% - milk fat, lactose, salt, egg whites, natural flavor and artificial flavor. What's the deal here? Is this some new packaging, or a regional packaging differene? MOst importantly, is it safe to eat?