Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

lilbird

Members
  • Content count

    2
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

1 Follower

About lilbird

  • Rank
    New Community Member
  • Birthday 01/05/1978

Contact Methods

  • MSN
    lilbird1578

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Female
  • Location
    Idaho
  1. The only places I have looked for gluten free flours are Fred-Meyer and Winco. Sorry, I am not of much help. lilbird
  2. Hi livininidaho, I am Robin. My mom, JoAnn, posted a response to you earlier today. I just wanted to let you know that I felt the same way you do just one year ago. Changing to a gluten-free diet can be expensive and takes some trial and error. Over time we have found good gluten-free bread, pizza, pasta and snacks at Fred Meyer. (Jake's and the Co-op can be even more expensive) The Fred Meyer on Overland and Five Mile has the most variety. The cheapest way to go gluten-free is to figure out what you eat that is already gluten-free: unseasoned meat, fresh fruits and vegetables, eggs, corn, rice, and potatos are all naturally gluten-free. Here are some things my daughter eats: *corn tortillas for quesadillas and tacos *Rice Chex (other gluten-free cereals cost 2 to 3 times more) *Yoplait yogurt is gluten-free (some yogurts aren't) There is a whole section of gluten-free products at Fred-Meyer. This is what we buy: *ENER-G Seattle Brown Bread *Amy's Cheese Pizza with Rice Crust (found in the frozen section, we just add the toppings) *Brown-Rice Pasta *Nature's Path Organic Buckwheat Wildberry Waffles (frozen) **You can find Enviro Kids Organic Gorilla Munch cereal (similar to Kix) at Winco for $2 instead of at Fred Meyer's for $4! Some things to watch out for: *Most pre-grated cheese has wheat flour on it to keep it from clumping (we just by it in blocks) *IHOP adds pancake batter to their scrambled eggs!! We were lucky we asked that day. :} *When looking at ingredients, you want to watch for wheat, rye, barley, oats, malt, dextrin, and modified food starch. There are many more things to watch out for.... however, I have never seen them come up. Also, even though you want to steer clear of any malt or dextrin, maltodextrin is gluten-free. It is something totally different. I am new at this forum thing so if you want to contact me I think there is a way you can send me an email. Maybe I can be more help over the phone. Hope this helps! Robin in Kuna ID