The following Email was sent by an El Pollo Loco rep in July 2009. Illuminating distinctions, one chicken source / type is safe, three are not (!!). "The follwing menu items DO NOT contain wheat gluten: - Pinto Beans - Refried beans - Cotija cheese - Mixed Vegetables - Corn tortillas (Does contain corn gluten) - Flame grilled mexican chicken - No wheat gluten, however it IS chopped on the same chopping board as other chicken items that do contain wheat gluten. -Avocado Salsa does not contain wheat, barley or rye gluten. -The Flan served at El Pollo Loco does not contain gluten at this time. "BBQ Chicken Flavor Event does not contain gluten.The product however is prepared on the same cutting board and uses common utensils as other chicken products that may contain gluten. Depending on your level of sensitivity, this may or may not be a consideration. The following menu items DO contain wheat gluten based on ingredients they are preapred with: "Tacos El Carbon - Thigh meat contains wheat gluten. Taquitos - Chicken blend contains wheat gluten. Flour tortillas contain wheat gluten. Salsa - Chipolte salsa contains wheat gluten so all salsas served at the salsa bar are not included on the 'does not contain gluten' list, due to the risk of cross contamination by guests of one salsa to another while filling their cups. *Pre- packed salsas with the exception of chipolte, would be an acceptable option if available. Pollo Bowls - Soy sauce used in marinade during preparation contains wheat gluten. Burritos - Soy sauce used in marinade during preparation contains wheat gluten. Salads - Soy sauce used in marinade during preparation contains wheat gluten. Rice - Contains gluten at this time Queso sauce currently being served at El Pollo Loco does contain wheat gluten Flour Tortillas - Contain wheat gluten."
Thanks for stopping by!