Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Bikerboy

Advanced Members
  • Content count

    5
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About Bikerboy

  • Rank
    New Community Member

Contact Methods

  • ICQ
    0
  1. I am flying to the Caribbean on US Air leaving on January 22nd. This will be my first vacation gluten free so I am taking gluten free breakfast bars and other carry on food just in case. I guess once I'm there I can eat fruit and fish if nothing else. Unfortunately, we might not get the chance to try US Air since it sure likes like they will fold by January 15th. I hope I'm wrong.
  2. Thank you for the information. Three months ago my doctor was looking for the cause of increased enzyme levels in my liver and did a blood test that indicated I had Celiac disease. I have been avoiding wheat since that time and my latest blood test was 19 versus the 280 I had originally. Fortunately or unfortunately, I don't have any symtoms for Celiac and can pretty much eat whatever I want to without any problems so a blood test is the only way I have of knowing if I'm on the right track. Since I don't feel bad I gave up wheat on the strength of that blood test and the advice of my doctor.
  3. I have been gluten-free for several months now and have read everything I can get my hands on about Celiac disease but I'm still confused. I know some food products say gluten free and wheat free while some say only wheat free. For instance, I eat Puffins cereal and it says wheat free but doesn't say gluten free. Do I need to eat only foods that say gluten free?
  4. I think it probably is the lack of food that is causing your problem. I am pretty sure that Captain Morgan, or any spiced rum for that matter isn't good for you. Keep in mind that you aren't limited to rum, wine and tequila like the web sites say. I was a big bourbon drinker and contacted my favorite bourbon makers when it dawned on me that they make bourbon in a distillery so it must be distilled and therefor, gluten free. All responses to my inquiries said their products were triple distilled and gluten free. The same is true for vodka.
  5. I know I can usually get oil and vinegar for my salad when I'm dining out but I don't particularly like oil and vinegar so I need to find small packages of other dressings. I have searched the internet but haven't found anything except boxes with huge quanities. Any ideas? David