Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

alltourmaline

Advanced Members
  • Content count

    8
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

1 Follower

About alltourmaline

  • Rank
    New Community Member

Contact Methods

  • ICQ
    0
  1. Below is a presentation that may be of interest to college bound celiacs and/or their parents. It's being held in Milford, Massachusetts, at The Milford Regional Hospital, 14 Prospect Street (Route 16), Milford, MA. Call (508)-422-2206 to register. NEW AT MILFORD REGIONAL! Celiac Disease and the College-Bound Student Going off to college is an exciting time for young adults. Managing your gluten-free diet can present challenges. Come and learn the "survival skills" from a recent college graduate on the gluten-free diet. This program is designed for high school juniors and seniors and college students. Parents are welcome to attend with or without their child. Date: Wednesday, April 27 Time: 6:30 p.m. Presenter: Victoria Armstrong, Food Technologist The above presentations are free and will be presented in Physicians Conference Center C, adjacent to the hospital's cafeteria. To register, please call (508) 422-2206.
  2. Hi, I just scared myself when I picked up a bag of "Snickers Popables" and noticed the ingredient: "modified wheat starch." Oh no, I thought, I've been eating Snicker bars, assuming that they were gluten-free! So I called the company, which is actually Master Foods, at 1-866-POPABLE, to inquire. This is what the Customer Service Rep told me. Please feel free to call the above number to confirm for your own peace of mind. The rep said; All M&M's are gluten-free, except for the "Crispy M&Ms" Snicker bars are gluten-free Snickers almond bars are gluten-free Aqua drops (hard candy) are gluten-free Skittles are gluten-free Starburst is gluten-free Dove candy bars are gluten-free Three Musketeers Bars are gluten-free THESE ARE THE PRODUCTS THE REP SAID ARE NOT gluten-free! MILKY WAY BARS ARE NOT gluten-free (except the midnight dark chocolate one) All "POPABLES" ARE NOT gluten-free!!!!! (all flavors) The "Popables" have modified wheat starch listed as an ingredient. The CSR checked with the Product Nutrition Rep who elaborated that the "Popables", (unlike the regular candy bars), are processed on the same lines as products with wheat, thus there is a chance of cross-contamination. I asked the rep to forward my request to modify the "Popables" label to note: the warning of "This product may contain wheat." or "Processed on equipment that also processes wheat." Read those labels carefully. I thought that the candy bars (like Snickers) and their Popables versions were the same. According to the company they aren't, due to the cross-contamination/equipment issue. So, no "Popables" for us!!
  3. I will contact the Boston area group. Thank you, Kim and celiac3270.
  4. Susan, I sympathize with you. I felt great the first two weeks on the gluten-free diet and now I seem to have random attacks too. I wonder if we become more sensitive to gluten once we start eliminating it. I wish I could give you some advice, but since I am new to this, I will just offer my support and good wishes.
  5. Hi, I had poached eggs and coffee at a diner this am and suffered for the rest of the day. Are either of those a problem? I'm not sure how cross-contamination could have occurred. Thanks.
  6. Hi, Does anyone know of any Boston area or other Massachusetts-based support groups and/or events? Thanks.
  7. Thank you ,celiac3270 and Medaka for your help. I asked the host to cook the stuffing separately so I can at least eat the bird. Will see what happens...
  8. Hi, I am a newly-diagnosed celiac, so your input would be so helpful. I will be attending a family Thanksgiving dinner. The turkey will be cooked with traditional stuffing (NOT gluten-free) inside it. Would this be cross-contamination? Or is it ok to eat it? Thank you.