Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

kareng

Moderators
  • Content count

    14,162
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1,783 Excellent

About kareng

  • Rank
    Advanced Community Member
  • Birthday October 25

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Female
  • Interests
    Making teenagers eat vegetables
  • Location
    Kansas City area

Recent Profile Visitors

65,917 profile views
  1. There are no warnings, in the US, from Celiac center's or various Celiac Societies that a Celiac cannot eat plain meat. If you are worried about what might be added to your meat, buy high quality meat that is cut or ground at the grocer. Look at the sodium contents on pre-packed meat. You will see that salt water is sometimes added - the sodium amount will be much higher per serving than plain meat.
  2. If you are going to copy someone else's article, please link to the source. If you want us to believe it is true and from a reliable source, linking would help with that.
  3. Did they say if the villi are damaged? did they do a full Celiac panel or just a TTG?
  4. Question on posting

    I have brought this to Admin's attention.
  5. Looks like you got some good info from previous posters. I don't understand why you and your doctor think that dairy contains gluten? Lactose is a sugar not a protein like gluten. I think you have some other issues.
  6. Burning Sensation

    The last post was from 2011. if you can eat a regular pizza crust with no issue, then gluten isn't your problem. You might want to look for something else. The amount of gluten in a beer or fryer cc is very very small compared to eating a pizza crust. I am assuming you do not have Celiac disease.
  7. Johnny Carinos

    Those don't look like they are from the restaurant. If the actual restaurant doesn't know the ingredients in the food - RUN!
  8. It is probably fine. Very few meds actually have gluten. shows as gluten-free on this list http://www.glutenfreedrugs.com/list.htm
  9. The letter I am suggesting has nothing to do with the doctor. I would type it and walk it to the desk when are in the building for your other appointment.
  10. Sort of funny. Says no wheat at the bottom but also says this " Other Ingredients: Proprietary Protein Blend (Soy Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Concentrate), Cocoa (processed with alkali), Inulin, Oat Fiber, Fructose, Natural Flavors, Maltodextrin, Soy Lecithin, Tricalcium Phosphate, Xanthan Gum. Contains milk and soy ingredients. Contains wheat ingredients. I bet they do not use gluten free oats, so its a bit of a gamble. Not one a Celiac should take as there is no such thing as "not severe Celiac". Even if you don't feel the damage, consuming gluten will start damaging you. Maybe its just catching up with you.
  11. I am assuming United States- It has been a long time since I studied health info law, but I doubt this part has changed. A doctor would not change the record just because you said its wrong. They might make a correction if they remembered or had actual facts (like a lab test read incorrectly or appearing later). What you are allowed to do is write a letter to be included in the record. You need to put in larger letters at the top, something like "This note must be included with any release of information from my medical record". I am not sure how it is handled with electronic releases these days. You could contact a medical records department (ask for the release of info section) at a large hospital near you and ask how they handle it. Be nice and tell them it isn't a problem with their facility but you know they are the experts. I would urge you to make the note short and not nit pick. State the big basic facts that you don't agree with and don't worry about the little things. People will not read a really long note or it will make you look crazy (in a bad way ) And for the apt with your neurologist. Don't bring it up, see what he/she says first. Half the time they don't read all the little details or even receive more than a brief - tests run & results and maybe a brief summary. You might be surprised, your doc might think the person is a bit of a jerk, but hoped you might mesh with them. I recently had my doc agree with me when I said I couldn't stand another doc that had been in her practice. lol
  12. What symptoms after cheating?

    I looked them up and they do not contain gluten in any flavor. Sometimes it can be other things - acid in the juice, for instance. some days I am fine with fresh tomatoes and lemonade, etc and some days, I get heartburn. And once I get it, it takes a few days or a week to get back to eating them again. Probably some sort of imbalance in my stomach acid and the foods I ate with it....Not sure why.
  13. What symptoms after cheating?

    I have never seen cranberry juice with gluten. which one is it?
  14. Nothing left to eat

    You are talking about lactose intolerance. It is the sugar in dairy. Many adults, Celiac or not, cannot digest the lactose. For a Celiac, the part of the villi damaged by Celiac produces the enzyme that digests this sugar. When your villi heal, you may regain the ability to digest this sugar. You may not, because many adults don't make that enzyme. Some adults may produce varying amounts of lactase (the enzyme), and that may allow them to digest small amounts of lactose (the sugar). Hard cheeses usually have very lactose so many people can digest them fine.
  15. I have never heard of a pad with gluten in it, even if skin contact could give a Celiac reaction.