Get email alerts Get E-mail Alerts Sponsor: Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE email alerts


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

676 Excellent

About psawyer

  • Rank
  • Birthday 07/04/1954

Contact Methods

  • ICQ

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location
    Near Toronto, Canada

Recent Profile Visitors

62,917 profile views
  1. Reactions to sweeteners are common, whether you have celiac disease or not. The intolerances can be identified by an elimination diet . Exclude them all for a week. If symptoms disappear, then carefully try introducing one at a time, and observe the results. You will know which ones to avoid, but it will take time and patience to figure it all out.
  2. FDA rules on spices: Grains can not be included. Section 101.22(a)(2) says, in part, "except for those substances which have been traditionally regarded as foods." That would cover grains.
  3. I eat Corn Chex frequently, and have never had a problem. Well, I do have a problem, actually. They are not sold here in Canada so I have to cross-border shop to get them.
  4. I don't eat chocolate often, but I have never had a gluten reaction to Toblerone. I trust it to be gluten-free.
  5. We use BRM gluten-free products, including the oats, and have never had a problem with them.
  6. A minority of persons with celiac disease react to oats in a manner similar to the big three gluten grains, even if the oats are 100% pure. You may be one of them. I would try eliminating all oats for a while and see if your symptoms clear. If they do, you may need to avoid oats as well as wheat, rye and barley.
  7. My two cents: just more fear mongering. Caramel color is safe. Distilled spirits are safe. Oak barrels are safe. Flavoring is safe. Does the article cite a single example of something that is not safe? No. Fear mongering.
  8. You read it, so I will explain in plain English. They don't make a claim, because they don't test and won't put themselves at risk of a frivolous suit based on an error by a supplier to them. But they will clearly label all ingredients. That means no hidden gluten. Since FALCPA took effect ten years ago, hidden gluten has been extremely rare. Nothing to worry about from my perspective. Enjoy Blue Bunny products--read the label and know.
  9. The "modified" in MFS does not mean genetically modified, although a GMO grain could be used to make it. If it is from wheat (almost never the case), it must be declared as such. It is usually tapioca, but corn runs a strong second. It is an ingredient that I just don't let myself worry about. It is safe. FWIF, in Canada this ingredient name is no longer permitted. Instead it must name the actual source, for example, "modified tapioca starch."
  10. My diagnosis, in the summer of 2000, was based solely on biopsy results. The blood tests were not yet available where I live. My health improved dramatically when I went gluten-free. I see no reason to doubt my diagnosis, and I am certainly not going to to a gluten challenge to see if antibodies develop. Biopsies are expensive, and make lots of money for the doctors. Just saying.
  11. Both of those are highly refined and contain no detectable gluten, even if the original source is wheat. But, as mentioned, if wheat IS the source, that must be disclosed on the label (at least in Canada and the US).
  12. What Karen and Doug said. If it is certified gluten-free it is, and has been verified so by a third party who tests.
  13. So they don't add any gluten ingredients, but don't test for gluten. This is the case with the vast majority of safe products marketed to the mainsteam consumer who does not care about gluten, and doesn't want to pay extra to have the product tested. The manufacturer won't make a gluten-free claim since they don't test--they are avoiding legal liability for a possible mistake by their suppliers. Nothing to see here, folks.
  14. Um, you might want to Google Blue Buffalo. You will learn that what they claim about their ingredients, and what their ingredients actually are, are, well, different. One reference
  15. I'm not sure what you are referring to as "Hamburger Sauce," but I don't see something by the name on the list. So, I would say no, but not for the same reason as manasota. "We cannot guarantee" is legal boiler plate which you should expect to see frequently, and which should not alarm you. I expect to see it and pay little or no attention to it. It really does not mean anything nutritionally. What it means, legally, is that "We carefully order gluten-free ingredients from suppliers we trust, be we do not test the supplies that they deliver to us, and therefore will not accept legal responsibility if one of them sends us product that, without their or our knowledge, contains accidental gluten content." That said, if you feel that the conditions at your local outlet are unsafe, don't eat there. But remember that just about every restaurant on earth has at least some gluten-containing items in the shop--they are all "shared facilities." And, in all likelihood, if they offer table service, the dishes, cutlery and dishwasher are "shared equipment." I got over it a long time ago. YMMV.