Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

psawyer

Moderator
  • Content count

    6,361
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

677 Excellent

About psawyer

  • Rank
    Moderator
  • Birthday 07/04/1954

Contact Methods

  • ICQ
    0

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Near Toronto, Canada

Recent Profile Visitors

63,278 profile views
  1. GFinDC has good advice. If you have a self-cleaning oven, put your cast iron in for a clean cycle (wash first to remove any overt residue). The temperature and duration (over 600F for 30 mins) will break down any gluten. After cooling, re-season with fresh oil. Stainless steel implements washed in a dishwasher will be fine. Ceramics which do not have detectable scratches will likewise be fine after a run through a dishwasher.
  2. Some people do react to annatto, but it is not derived from a gluten containing grain; from a celiac perspective it is gluten-free and safe.
  3. Advil (ibuprofen) is gluten-free, but can be a stomach irritant, especially if taken on an empty stomach. That said, I will also place my bet on the garlic and onions. As Raven said, eating more than once a day may also help. An empty stomach is likely to be an irritable stomach.
  4. Reactions to sweeteners are common, whether you have celiac disease or not. The intolerances can be identified by an elimination diet . Exclude them all for a week. If symptoms disappear, then carefully try introducing one at a time, and observe the results. You will know which ones to avoid, but it will take time and patience to figure it all out.
  5. FDA rules on spices: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/cfrsearch.cfm?fr=101.22 https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/cfrsearch.cfm?fr=182.10 Grains can not be included. Section 101.22(a)(2) says, in part, "except for those substances which have been traditionally regarded as foods." That would cover grains.
  6. I eat Corn Chex frequently, and have never had a problem. Well, I do have a problem, actually. They are not sold here in Canada so I have to cross-border shop to get them.
  7. I don't eat chocolate often, but I have never had a gluten reaction to Toblerone. I trust it to be gluten-free.
  8. We use BRM gluten-free products, including the oats, and have never had a problem with them.
  9. A minority of persons with celiac disease react to oats in a manner similar to the big three gluten grains, even if the oats are 100% pure. You may be one of them. I would try eliminating all oats for a while and see if your symptoms clear. If they do, you may need to avoid oats as well as wheat, rye and barley.
  10. My two cents: just more fear mongering. Caramel color is safe. Distilled spirits are safe. Oak barrels are safe. Flavoring is safe. Does the article cite a single example of something that is not safe? No. Fear mongering.
  11. You read it, so I will explain in plain English. They don't make a claim, because they don't test and won't put themselves at risk of a frivolous suit based on an error by a supplier to them. But they will clearly label all ingredients. That means no hidden gluten. Since FALCPA took effect ten years ago, hidden gluten has been extremely rare. Nothing to worry about from my perspective. Enjoy Blue Bunny products--read the label and know.
  12. The "modified" in MFS does not mean genetically modified, although a GMO grain could be used to make it. If it is from wheat (almost never the case), it must be declared as such. It is usually tapioca, but corn runs a strong second. It is an ingredient that I just don't let myself worry about. It is safe. FWIF, in Canada this ingredient name is no longer permitted. Instead it must name the actual source, for example, "modified tapioca starch."
  13. My diagnosis, in the summer of 2000, was based solely on biopsy results. The blood tests were not yet available where I live. My health improved dramatically when I went gluten-free. I see no reason to doubt my diagnosis, and I am certainly not going to to a gluten challenge to see if antibodies develop. Biopsies are expensive, and make lots of money for the doctors. Just saying.
  14. Both of those are highly refined and contain no detectable gluten, even if the original source is wheat. But, as mentioned, if wheat IS the source, that must be disclosed on the label (at least in Canada and the US).
  15. What Karen and Doug said. If it is certified gluten-free it is, and has been verified so by a third party who tests.