Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

eat2much

Members
  • Content count

    3
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About eat2much

  • Rank
    New Community Member
  1. Sadly, most local bakeries and restaurants (I'm only talking about Montreal) just don't understand the difference. They think that because they make something with rice or corn flour, etc. that the product is magically gluten free. That is why I always ask, if for no other reason than to let them know there is a big difference between "no wheat" and "gluten free" and to help them realize that people can get very sick as a result.
  2. My bad! What I meant was your corner bakery can make things with rice flour using the same bowls, mixers, and ovens as their wheat products and still call them "gluten free". The food does not contain wheat as an ingredient but is more than likely cross contaminated.
  3. Hi there, There is a restaurant in Montreal called "Zero 8" (www.zero8.com)that avoids the 8 top allergens so you should be very safe eating there. There is a newly opened bakery called "Mi & Stu" (www.miandstu.com) that is to the best of my knowledge, the only dedicated gluten, dairy, and peanut free bakery in town. I can vouch for both places as being totally safe and very good. Sadly, in Canada the term "Gluten Free" is not regulated. As such, many establishments (bakeries in particular) produce so called gluten free products in the same kitchens so the risk of cross contamination is high. The best thing to do is perhaps call ahead and ask the necessary questions in advance. Enjoy the trip!