Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

vln1760

Members
  • Content count

    3
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

About vln1760

  • Rank
    New Community Member
  1. Thank you for your help, everybody--I will go check out the Enjoy Life chips ASAP! As for the facility that processes TJ's chocolate chips, it says there is shared equipment with soy and milk, but nothing about wheat (they usually mention that if it is the case). I was asking about the vanilla being gluten-free because I have seen some with caramel color added. And while I understand that the there is no gluten in the distilled alcohol that may be used to make the extract, many distilled spirits also have caramel color as a hidden ingredient (you have to contact the manufacturer to find out). I only found out about this problem during the past year after getting very sick from both sherry and tequila in my own cooking. Does anybody know anything further about this problem? I'm starting to think I should avoid anything that has a brown or yellow color, but then I feel paranoid. However, since I seem to be getting sick more and more frequently, it seems like it may be the best solution:-(
  2. I just wanted to say that I understand your frustration. Undisclosed gluten sources have been plaguing my life for the last year or so. I agree that food companies cannot always produce gluten-free products (and I'm not even suggesting that they change their manufacturing processes or ingredient lists), but there really does need to be better labeling of this serious allergen for those of us who are super-sensitive!
  3. I just wanted to post a heads-up about Trader Joe's semisweet chocolate chips. Trader Joe's lists them as "no gluten ingredients used", but I recently got sick after eating them. I was having a chocolate craving, so I ate some chocolate chips straight out of the bag and was very sick within minutes :-( Does anybody have any ideas about this? Do you think the vanilla is not gluten free? Should I avoid all foods that contain vanilla? Or maybe it was cross-contamination in the factory? From what I understand about their factory, it only processes other chocolate chips, which are also listed as "no gluten ingredients used", so I thought it ought to be safe. Also, do you know any chocolate chips that are safe? I'm new to this super-sensitive side of Celiac's, so I'd appreciate any advice from those of you who have been dealing with this for longer. The rest of my family members with Celiac's got less sensitive after they stopped eating gluten for a couple of years, but I just keep getting worse!