Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

succulent_succotash

Members
  • Content count

    2
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About succulent_succotash

  • Rank
    New Community Member
  • Birthday November 5

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://succulentsuccotash.blogspot.com

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Female
  1. Fish sauce is not always gluten-free. I treat it with almost the same caution as soy sauce. Based on my own research, here are a few gluten-free brands. Most of them are authentic Asian sauces. Red Boat Rufina Three Ladies Three Shrimp Squid Thai Kitchen -Succulent Succotash
  2. I am Korean American, but have not made Kimchi myself. Most traditional Korean kimchi's include fish sauce. I recently realized this when my mother-in-law told me as I was about to try her daikon kimchi. After research, it is apparent that many kimchi recipes call for fish sauce (Korean aekjeot). Depending on the brand of fish sauce, it may NOT be gluten free due to inclusion of wheat, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, and hydrolyzed soy protein (?). I am actually surprised at how many people out there think kimchi is gluten-free without considering this ingredient. I have seen Celiac bloggers online indicate that kimchi is fine for them. So, I am wondering if the amount is so little, that it's negligible to them? I think kimchi is one of those gray areas. Gray areas are the toughest when you are dining out or purchasing pre-made items. I've been gluten-free for about 1.5 months now and it's been really tough not being able to eat Asian food as I used to. I miss Thai & Vietnamese food the most, which always includes fish sauce.