Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Lactose, Dairy Intolerant? What About Raw Dairy?
0

6 posts in this topic

I went on a two week trial of absolutely no dairy.  I had some kettle corn with butter on it and I had a bad reaction that next day, i.e. my acne returned, extra bloating, and very irritable   I love cheese...  Does anyone have experience with raw dairy milk and raw cheese?  And do you have a reaction to that?  Also, if so, has anyone tried sheep or goat milk/cheese?  Have you had a reaction to that?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I am also slightly allergic to yeast according to my poke allergy test.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that I'm actually casein intolerant. So, lactose levels don't matter. But, I seem to tolerate a little goat cheese and feta. But, if I try to push it, I'll feel unwell. (Cow's milk products seem to cause my skin to break out, too.) I used to think that I tolerated goat and sheep products better (and I probably do), but I seem less and less able to have much of them. Oh--butter is great (another sign that it could well be casein, rather than lactose). I would just do a trial of one thing at a time and see. I don't have experience with raw; I've never been that interested in having dairy to seek it out as an option.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can easily test for Milk protein and Lactose. and which is what.

 

1) Vintage cheese has no lactose

2) Greek Yoghurt has no Lactose

3) Goat Milk has A2 milk protein

4) Goat milk has lactose

5) Cow milk has A1 and A2 protein

6) Cow milk has Lactose

 

If you don't get sick on sour Yoghurt's or vintage cheese it's lactose, especailly if you get sick on Goat milk. If you get sick on Yoghurt and Vintage cheese it's milk Protein, if you don't get sick on Goat yoghurt then it's Cow protein (A1). Highly unlikely you will be intolerant of A2 protein unless you have a really bad permeable gut.

 

Or you can just do like me and only have cultured soy milk (yoghurt or drink). Solves every problem including soy protein intolerance.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




If you are lactose intolerant, you want to know the precise content of lactose in foods. Not all dairy have the same lactose content.

Just google "lactose content of foods". There a a few very convenient online database for you to search and sort lactose values in common foods.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0