Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Werther's Original Products
1 1

6 posts in this topic

Do any of the Werther’s Original products contain wheat based ingredients or gluten?

All Werther’s Original products are suitable for a gluten-free diet. They do include glucose syrup, which may be derived from a wheat source. The Coeliac society states that glucose syrup sourced from wheat is suitable for the inclusion in a gluten-free diet.

 

I was trying to look up Werther's caramel hard candies to see if they are gluten free and this was the response on the web site... which left me confused, so does this mean they are ok??

 

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Yes, it means that they are okay.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are Werther's Original products Gluten-Free?

No. Although our products do meet the FDA requirements of testing at less than 20 ppm for gluten content, we have chosen not to label our products as “gluten-free” at this time. If you have a gluten allergy, we recommend that you speak to your physician before consuming our product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

tigbes,

Welcome! Thanks for the update on the Werther's, but what was posted here over three years ago was true then.  Many food businesses have come a long way in more accurate reporting of gluten free products. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, SLL! But even the original statement from Werther's should not have been deemed as "OK". It says "wheat" in their statement. Red Flag!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Posted (edited)

Sounds like they are gluten free they just don't want to label them that way.  Glucose syrup is gluten-free, even if it started as wheat ( which is what the post about the coelic Society.)

 

in in the US, it will say something like glucose syrup ( wheat) so you can avoid it if you would like to.  I usually do, just because it's easier for me.

Edited by kareng
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
1 1

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.