1 reply to this topic

#1 e.ramos

e.ramos

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 February 2013 - 09:47 AM

I have a question about my DD's test results, hoping someone will have some insight :)
Dd is 17 months old and grain-free(for approx. 1yr) due to constipation issues (I recently allowed her TTO try some gluten as a food challenge and she was immediately co satiated once again, and spit up twice). I recently had a blood panel done to test for celiacs and although she is grain-free, I do consume grains/gluten so was assuming that her getting that through my breast milk would be enough for an accurate test. However, I am wondering if that was not enough, or perhaps since she is so young she does to have enough antibodies to register! I'm still new to all this :)
Anyhow, she registered only a 1 on the IgG and IgA on the transglutaminase tests. It says <6 is "no antibodies detected. But what is a "1" ? Is that still a sensitivity, considering she did not have gluten in her direct diet at the time?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

Gobble! Gobble!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,245 posts

Posted 28 February 2013 - 09:52 AM

If she isn't eating gluten, she can't make antibodies.  I think the <6 means that some people may make a tiny bit or more likely, its just a margin of error in the test.  A 1 wouldn't mean anything.

http://www.curecelia...-celiac-disease

"At what age should children get tested for celiac disease?

Generally, children are screened for celiac disease at age 2 or 3 unless symptoms are seen beforehand. In children younger than 3, with symptoms, antibody testing may not always be accurate. Children must be eating wheat or barley-based cereals for some time, up to one year, before they can generate an autoimmune response to gluten that shows up in testing. A pediatric gastroenterologist should evaluate young children experiencing a failure to thrive or persistent diarrhea for celiac disease."