2 replies to this topic

#1 striped_sweater

striped_sweater

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 March 2013 - 11:21 AM

I am extremely new to the gluten free community; I was diagnosed with celiac disease 2 days ago. Just wanted to know:

-what kind of appliances and things do we absolutely have to replace?

-tips on eating out?

-what to do for retreats and summer camps (they will probably have mostly gluten to eat)

-where to buy gluten-free groceries?

-suggestions for everday, quick gluten free meals

- gluten-free store-bought meals? (canned, frozen, etc) me and my mom bought a few things, like gluten-free bread & Dinty Moore beef stew, but I can't live on that forever.

Luckily, I have some experience with living gluten-free. My mom went gluten free for some time about a year ago, and she would make gluten-free meals often. We also have some Glutino cereal and Gluten free pasta left over from that phase, haha. Which is good, because now for me, it is a necessity to live gluten free. 

Any tips from the veterans that they'd like to share? I am a young teenager, by the way, if it makes any difference.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

HO! HO! HO!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,318 posts

Posted 03 March 2013 - 11:34 AM

Read this and have your mom do it too. Is she really just expecting you to figure it out on your own?

http://www.celiac.co...ewbie-info-101/

santa-dance.gif

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry

“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin

“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone

#3 GFinDC

GFinDC

A little farting never hurt anybody... :-).