Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

gluten-free Alcohol


  • Please log in to reply

19 replies to this topic

#16 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 03 May 2013 - 05:16 PM

Smirnoff vodka is widely available, reasonably priced, and made exclusively from corn. Corn is gluten-free. Smirnoff is gluten-free.

It is generally accepted that any distilled liquor, even whisky, is gluten-free. I singled out whisky since it is made from grain mash, which often includes gluten grains. Bourbon whisky is often just corn. But I have not seen a warning from a credible source about gluten in whisky this century. I think the last one I saw was from about 1997, before current testing was able to show that there was no detectable gluten in the distillate.

Bottoms up!
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#17 IrishHeart

 
IrishHeart

    Warrior Princess

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,558 posts
 

Posted 03 May 2013 - 05:50 PM

If there were gluten in any distilled liquor, trust me, I'd be dead by now. :D Cheers!.

 

"Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten from wheat. "

 

http://www.celiac.co...Free/Page1.html


  • 0

"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif


#18 GlutenFreeRupert

 
GlutenFreeRupert

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
 

Posted 07 May 2013 - 12:55 PM

Chopin is my favorite gluten free vodka. Tito's and Krome are also very good gluten free vodkas.


  • 0

#19 CLH6288

 
CLH6288

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:12 AM

Hi all! I'm new to the board. I've been living with Celiac for 6 years now, and follow the diet to a 't.' While I've become pretty comfortable with food (always open to new suggestions), I struggle to find alcohol. I primarily drink Hard Cider (Crispin, Magners, Angry Orchard, etc.) and Malibu rum. The problem is the high sugar content. I will have maybe 2 drinks and want to vomit from all the sugar (not the alcohol), or wake up with the worst hangover. Can anyone provide some good alcohol choices (by brand) that are Celiac friendly, and don't have an insane amount of sugar? I'm very sensitive, so I don't believe the triple distilled wheat based alcohols that people can be safe. 

 

All help is appreciated, thanks! 

Depending on where you live, you may be able to find Tito's Gluten Free Vodka, it's certified and delicious, not too expensive either.


  • 0

Celiac

Dermatitis Herpetiformus 

Oat Intolerance

Caffeine Intolerance

 


#20 mbrookes

 
mbrookes

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 666 posts
 

Posted 21 May 2013 - 08:05 AM

I guess I am not what is referred to as a "super sensitive" as I do not react to a lot of things I see mentioned here. That said, I have had no trouble with any distilled liquor except sour mash bourbon. I mix with whatever suits my mood (bourbon or vodka with Crystal light lemonade, bourbon or rum with Sprite or Coke, etc.) Bloody Marys are good if they are not made with a gluten-containing mix (beware of those containing soy sauce). I am not a heavy drinker, but I do love a cocktail.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: