Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Continuing Gluten Questions

18 posts in this topic

Hello everyone: I am new to the Gluten-Free Diet lifestyle, so am unfamiliar with what I am able to eat. Fortunately, I have a girlfriend whom is gluten-free now, but our knowledge is still limited. I hoped that you all could help determine what foods are considered okay to eat. 

My first question is whether or not I can eat these tortilla chips. I live in a Fraternity House and eat a lot of these.

I can't find out how to use the attachements, so here are the ingredients: Yellow Stone Ground Corn Masa Flour and a Trace of Lime, Vegetable Oil (Canola and/or Safflower and/or soybean, Salt, TBHQ, Citric Acid.

I researched the flour and saw an instance of one girl having a reaction to the flour, but she commented that it seemed to be a bad batch.

Are these generally okay to eat?

Thanks,

Nate

Ads by Google:

I see no gluten in those. Mind you, i'd be more concerned about getting CC'd by others who eat those than the chips themselves.

There is no gluten in those. 

This might be helpful:

http://www.fritolay.com/your-health/us-products-not-containing-gluten-ingredients.html

You need to eat more than chips.  Not sure if you can safely eat anything served in the Frat.  You might want to talk to the cook about that.

Hey guys! I have a few more questions. (1) I've seen that eggs can be a concern for some people. Whether the chicken is fed gluten-containing food or not. If you've read any of my other posts I'm not sure if I have gluten intolerance/celiacs or not, so obviously my symptoms are debilitating. Anyone care to weigh in if the eggs are a big deal? (2) High fructose corn syrup... Cool or not? And (3) Xanthum gum. It's in my salad dressing. I've read split rulings.

Thanks guys!