Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Continuing Gluten Questions
0

18 posts in this topic

Hello everyone: I am new to the Gluten-Free Diet lifestyle, so am unfamiliar with what I am able to eat. Fortunately, I have a girlfriend whom is gluten-free now, but our knowledge is still limited. I hoped that you all could help determine what foods are considered okay to eat. 

 

My first question is whether or not I can eat these tortilla chips. I live in a Fraternity House and eat a lot of these.

 

I can't find out how to use the attachements, so here are the ingredients: Yellow Stone Ground Corn Masa Flour and a Trace of Lime, Vegetable Oil (Canola and/or Safflower and/or soybean, Salt, TBHQ, Citric Acid.

 

I researched the flour and saw an instance of one girl having a reaction to the flour, but she commented that it seemed to be a bad batch.

 

Are these generally okay to eat?

 

Thanks,

Nate

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I see no gluten in those. Mind you, i'd be more concerned about getting CC'd by others who eat those than the chips themselves.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no gluten in those. 

 

This might be helpful:

 

http://www.fritolay.com/your-health/us-products-not-containing-gluten-ingredients.html

 

 

You need to eat more than chips.  Not sure if you can safely eat anything served in the Frat.  You might want to talk to the cook about that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey guys! I have a few more questions. (1) I've seen that eggs can be a concern for some people. Whether the chicken is fed gluten-containing food or not. If you've read any of my other posts I'm not sure if I have gluten intolerance/celiacs or not, so obviously my symptoms are debilitating. Anyone care to weigh in if the eggs are a big deal? (2) High fructose corn syrup... Cool or not? And (3) Xanthum gum. It's in my salad dressing. I've read split rulings.

 

Thanks guys!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Make sure gluten fingers aren't reaching for the same bowl or bag.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Make sure gluten fingers aren't reaching for the same bowl or bag.

Soooo, are you saying all those are O.K.?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soooo, are you saying all those are O.K.?

Yes.  They are as long as you don't have a intolerance to them (some people do). 

 

Biggest thing is to get to that bag of chips before those "gluten eating" folks do.  I've been training my extended family to 1) let me eat first and 2) pour from the bag on to individual plates or a napkin.  No reaching into the bag.  No need to do this at home, since it's gluten free completely, but when visiting a gluten filled house, it's the only way to survive!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soooo, are you saying all those are O.K.?

As for X gum, HF corn syrup and eggs - they are all gluten free. People, Celiac or not, can tolerate them. People, Celiac or not, don't tolerate one or more of them. You will have to see for yourself if those foods bother you or not.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Eggs are a staple food for me appearing poached daily on my breakfast table.  My cholesterol is not high.  They are an excellent protein source.  I would only take them out of my diet if I knew they were a problem.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They are ok as long as your friends don't contaminate the chips. Community food is always tricky for us celiacs. Make sure you get yours first or have a separate stash.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks so much for all the responses everyone! I'm really happy to of found such a helpful forum. 

 

I doubt you have read my other thread. I am a possible candidate for Gluten sensitivity/Celiacs. It's not debilitating to me, but I have bloating, occasional diahrrea in the morning, brain fog, and fatigue. Also my hormones looking good. Those are the symptoms I think are related to Celiacs. 

 

Do you think that I need to be concerned about cross-contamination from people in the chips if my symptoms aren't SO bad?

 

Also, does anyone know if Whey Protein is gluten-free? I see glutamine on the back and that has me worried.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks so much for all the responses everyone! I'm really happy to of found such a helpful forum. 

 

I doubt you have read my other thread. I am a possible candidate for Gluten sensitivity/Celiacs. It's not debilitating to me, but I have bloating, occasional diahrrea in the morning, brain fog, and fatigue. Also my hormones looking good. Those are the symptoms I think are related to Celiacs. 

 

Do you think that I need to be concerned about cross-contamination from people in the chips if my symptoms aren't SO bad?

 

Also, does anyone know if Whey Protein is gluten-free? I see glutamine on the back and that has me worried.

Glutamine isn't gluten. Whey is a part of milk. Both gluten-free.

Have you been tested for Celiac?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Glutamine isn't gluten. Whey is a part of milk. Both gluten-free.

Have you been tested for Celiac?

 

Okay great. Do you know if the Whey Protein's other ingredients are okay or if there is a possibility of cross-contamination? I can post the ingredients on this forum if that is more helpful.

 

And this is the link to my other thread. I have the test is posted there.

 

http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/100163-gluten-issue/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay great. Do you know if the Whey Protein's other ingredients are okay or if there is a possibility of cross-contamination? I can post the ingredients on this forum if that is more helpful.

 

And this is the link to my other thread. I have the test is posted there.

 

http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/100163-gluten-issue/

Whey is an ingredient. It is a part of milk. It wouldn't have any other ingredients. It might be an ingredient in a protein powder. Most of them seem happy to state gluten-free on them if they are.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Glutamine and whey are gluten-free. Whey is dairy, so that may be of concern to those with dairy issues.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay great. And since high fructose corn syrup is okay I assume then that corn syrup is also? And I want to eat Pop Secrets Homestyle popcorn. The only thing I wonder about is the artificial flavoring. Is that normally gluten free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only thing I wonder about is the artificial flavoring. Is that normally gluten free?

Yes. Flavor is not a concern. The only one that might be a concern is barley malt, but since it is an expensive ingredient it isn't hidden--the company will be proud of it and want you to know.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd buy a new protein power, but I have had a bottle sitting around for some time now. I'm going to start taking it because the protein is beneficial and the calories are nice for a gluten free diet. So sorry if this seems redundant, but I'm going to list the ingredients it to err on the side of caution since I will be consuming this daily. I don't want to be sabotaging myself on a daily basis! If you guys see any red lights please let me know.

 

Micronized Amino Acids: Glutamine (as Whey Protein Isolate and Micronized Glutamine), Arginine (as Micronized Arginine and Whey Protein Isolate)

Leucine (as Whey Protein Isolate and L-Leucine

L-Carnitine (as Carnitine Tartrate

Amino Acceleration System

Enzyme Matrix Blend (Amylase, Protease 4.5, Protease 6.0, CereCalase, Peptidase, Alpha-galactosidase, Glucoamylase, Bromelain, Protease 3.0, Lipase, Protease AM, Invertase, Lactase), Aminogen, Carbogen

 

Protein Blend (Whey Protein Isolate, Hydrolyzed Whey), Cocoa (Processed with Alkali), Natural and Artificial Flavors, Polydextrose, Lecithin, Sucralose, Acesulfame Potassium

 

Contains: Milk and Soybean

 

So there you have it! Again sorry if I am being over-cautious. Just want to make sure. Also there is another artificial flavoring on there so hopefully that is okay.

 

And if anyone wants to know it is called Amplified Wheybolic Exreme 60 Dietary Supplement

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,375
    • Total Posts
      920,572
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • https://www.facebook.com/groups/SingaporeCeliacs/
    • Today was the big day when I went to the GI and this is the first time I have felt heard and taken care of.  I told him about the two celiac blood tests  (in my first post) normal, he said that often happens, even with people who do have celiac and he needed to see the report and pictures from my endoscope.    I had filled out the appropriate Kaiser paperwork for Sutter to send all my medical records, but they ended up sending a disc with records to me, which Sutter said they could not use.  We also talked about gluten sensitivity v. celiac, and he said a lot of people are sensitive to gluten even if they don't have celiac. He said that my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which can be caused by any number of things.  He asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which limits certain foods and requires no gluten. He said my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which he said can be caused by any number of things, including gluten sensitivity.  He has asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which has restricted foods as well as no gluten because most gluten products have wheat in them.  So, since I am planning on going gluten free anyway, and I don't want another endoscope or blood tests if absolutely necessary, I am going to try the FODMAP diet and see what happens. I filled a consent form at the GI office today to have all my records sent to him so he can view the endoscope pathology report and photos.  I have an appointment with a Registered Dietician on September 30, and follow up appointment the GI in 4 months. 
    • gluten-free andee, according to an article on celiac.com  that talks about this subject see this link http://www.celiac.com/articles/24406/1/Celiac-Diease-and-Other-Autoimmune-Diseases-Equals-Low-Inflammatory-Diet/Page1.html Quoting the author "In the author's personal experience, a gluten-free diet has many limitations. The reactivity between alpha gliadin and corn, millet, oats, rice and dairy has been denounced as invalid by gastroenterologists and celiac disease researchers. While at a medical school in Missouri, biopsies did not show improvement in villous atropy until all alpha gliadin sources and corn, millet, rice and oats were removed from the diet."  Note this research is two years old but hilites the problem with non-gluten rice protein that you are having. It is the alpha gliadin sources that it causing the cross reactivity you are experiencing when you eat rice protein's. She says quoting "Celiac disease has gotten the most attention in antibody research, but the current data on cross-reactivity of antibodies is allowing a better understanding of gluten sensitivity. Antigen reactivity to alpha-gliadin can trigger immune attacks on many individuals beyond those with positive DQ 2, DQ 8 and TTG test results. She goes on to say "A low inflammatory diet customized to each person through testing for cross-reactivity or elimination diet protocols is needed to restore a state of health and well-being."  which sounds exactly like what you are doing. If you are still having problems after elminating rice a 30 day elimination of all the alpha gliadin proteins might be in order.  Corn is a common reactivity problem I hear with a gluten allergy from my friends as well as the obvious lactose problems that can be common among celiacs.  But rarely do you hear Rice allergy's brought up in context of a gluten allergy. I am glad you are making progress on finding your triggers. Read the whole article for yourself to see if there are nuggets of truth I did not highlight in my response. I hope this is helpful. Good luck on your journey to health. Posterboy,
    • One other thing - you might be able to tolerate some dairy if it's only the FODMAPs problem. I discovered that many cheese such as cheddar have effectively no lactose. And my wife sometimes makes 24 hour yoghurt, which also has effectively no lactose. Those have been fine for my tummy.
    • Celiacs got better gluten-free. Post-war, grains became available again and the same patients got sick again. 1952 the Gluten-Free Diet is officially ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,451
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chelsealarita
    Joined