Jump to content





   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Kikkoman Gluten Free Teriyaki Sauce- Yeast?


  • Please log in to reply

8 replies to this topic

#1 Zibby

 
Zibby

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
 

Posted 16 March 2013 - 01:49 PM

Hi, can someone please tell me if Kikkoman gluten free teriyaki sauce had yeast? I see it has wine in the ingredients. I'm new to eating yeast free. Thank you!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts
 

Posted 16 March 2013 - 02:03 PM

Hi, can someone please tell me if Kikkoman gluten free teriyaki sauce had yeast? I see it has wine in the ingredients. I'm new to eating yeast free. Thank you!

Yeast is not listed on the bottle I have in my fridge.


  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#3 Zibby

 
Zibby

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
 

Posted 16 March 2013 - 02:11 PM

I don't see yeast in it but I'm wondering if there is yeast from the wine in the ingredients- hidden yeast.
  • 0

#4 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts
 

Posted 16 March 2013 - 02:39 PM

I don't see yeast in it but I'm wondering if there is yeast from the wine in the ingredients- hidden yeast.

Most ingredients are not hidden.  But, if you feel uncomfortable,  you can contact the company at www.kikkomanusa.com (assuming you are in the US)

 

I do like the labeling as it states : meets the FDA proposed guidelines for a gluten free declaration. (bold is mine)


  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#5 Zibby

 
Zibby

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
 

Posted 16 March 2013 - 02:57 PM

I did see the gluten free label but there is no fda labeling for yeast and there can be yeast in products that have no gluten from what I understand, such as wine. Like I said though, I am new to the yeast issue. I do have to avoid gluten as well. I appreciate your response though. :)
  • 0

#6 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts
 

Posted 16 March 2013 - 03:06 PM

You might already know this Zibby, but I will post for others reading:

 

http://www.kikkomanu...alfaq.php#diet2

 

...And no, I'm not proficient in where yeast hides, so I will bow out. :)


  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#7 shadowicewolf

 
shadowicewolf

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,758 posts
 

Posted 16 March 2013 - 05:04 PM

I've read conflicting information. When in doubt, don't use it. :)


  • 0

#8 Zibby

 
Zibby

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
 

Posted 17 March 2013 - 04:56 AM

Thanks Shadow. I was hesitant to ask the company because they don't have a number and want a mailing address to ask a question. I faked the address and hope they still respond. :)
  • 0

#9 Zibby

 
Zibby

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
 

Posted 20 March 2013 - 03:24 PM

I got an answer:

Our Gluten-Free Teriyaki Marinade & Sauce is made with our Gluten-Free Soy Sauce. Kikkoman does use a yeast in manufacturing our gluten free and other soy sauces. Yeast is an important component to the fermentation process, but it is inactivated at the end of the manufacturing process when the soy sauce is heat treated.

We hope this information is helpful to you. If we may be of further assistance, please let us know.

Sincerely,
KIKKOMAN SALES USA, INC.
Consumer Services
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: