There is no gluten in aloe stems. I am not saying you do not react to aloe, but if you do it is not to gluten. Gluten is only found in wheat products, barley, rye and foods contaminated with gluten, like oats. ActualIy some people react to even cerified gluten free oats. I cannot imagine aloe being processed anywhere near wheat. Aloe is, in fact, a calmant of the gut for most people.
Mushroom, you need to re read the post. She didn't say that there was gluten in aloe stems. She said that she would put aloe stems in their food to make them have to run to the toilet LOL. I did a google search, apparently the Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center says that ingesting aloe can cause diarrhea.
It was just a joke.