4 replies to this topic

#1 EmiPark210

EmiPark210

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 104 posts

Posted 28 March 2013 - 07:16 PM

I know I've posted a lot about my biopsy and the process to get me here... but the date has FINALLY been set. I will be done testing April 19th at 8:30am! Very exciting.

But here's my issue, cause there always seems to be one. I don't know when to time my gluten intake. I'm a college student who has classes on and off from 9:30am till 5pm. My morning classes are the most important for me to be 100% at because I have Russian language every day and it's very participation based. I am also part of the Masters swimming club which is at 6:30 Tuesday/Thursday and 8am Saturday. I also have a vision issue where I have holes in my right retina so I'm missing parts of my visual field. This makes nausea very difficult to deal with because it's even more disorienting because I can't see completely. For now, the holes are something I just have to live with and adapt to. My professors have been warned about all the issues this is causing and I am planning to talk to academic support tomorrow to see what they can help with.

My symptom cycle (as I've been able to figure out): 30 minutes post glutening, I get nauseous which leads to extreme dizziness and a strong desire to lie in a dark room with my eyes closed until it goes away. 6-12 hours later I have sulfuric flatulence that at most is highly embarrassing and slightly uncomfortable. 40 hours later, my body starts preparing to expulse all the gluten and just clear out my gut in the process. This causes major gas build up which is uncomfortable while sitting and a sense of urgency in terms of clearing it out. Usually by 50-60 hours after I am glutened I'm back to normal. This morning I had nausea 40 hours post glutening though that might have been more vision related than gluten but I'm not sure.