Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

   arrowShare this page:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

- - - - -

Food Coloring...

  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 shadowicewolf


    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:28 AM

Food coloring has to be declared doesn't it?


Well, i went hunting around for some marshmellows the other day and found these:






Corn Syrup, Sugar, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Dextrose, Water, Gelatin, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate.


The kraft version had blue food coloring in it. These don't appear to have them in it.



  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer



  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:50 AM

I believe that food coloring must be declared. I can't imagine why there would be coloring in everyday marshmallows. Seasonal ones for Easter, maybe.

  • 0
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 kareng


    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,317 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:55 AM

Blue dye makes things look  whiter.  The cheaper ones might be a little less white?  It is probably not a very noticeable difference.

  • 0



Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone


#4 shadowicewolf


    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:59 AM

Thats what i thought, thanks guys :)

  • 0

#5 MarciaD


    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 05:47 PM

Companies are 'supposed' to list colors. But you don't want to have the artificial flavoring either. They could be petroleum derivatives as well (like the dyes). You might be interested in the support group Feingold Association www.feingold.org It researches products for its member to let them know if there are artificial dyes, flavorings, some preservatives, casein or gluten.

  • 0

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: