Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Mikes Hard Lemonade
0

8 posts in this topic

Their website says gluten-free to 5ppm. Would you try it?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

There is more than one report that proves that the tests most commonly used for gluten do not accurately detect barley gluten. This has been a hot topic with the "gluten free" beer thing, since they are using only that test and not a test that would accurately detect the barley gluten. This is the same case here. Keep in mind, that Mike's is made with barley which is on our list of things not to eat. Keep in mind that Mike's uses the ELISA test, which there is nothing wrong in general except that they are testing for barley. 

 

Here is another take on the subject (it is a little but not very old):

http://thesavvyceliac.com/2011/04/29/what-mikes-hard-lemonade-is-gluten-free/

 

Here is a link that explains why the ELISA test is inaccurate for barley:

http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/barley-malt-ingredients-in-labeled-gluten-free-foods/

 

The short answer? Not on my life.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Everything I read on it was pretty old. I thought it would be a decent debate but you pretty much covered everything. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pre dx, Mike's made me sick. I figured it was the malt and stayed away from it. I am not going to try it now, post dx.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter has kidney disease (FSGS) as a result of autuimmune issues related to gluten. We measure her protein leakage on urine test strips in the morning, so if she has anything with gluten, she will spike on the stick. Forunately, she has not shown any spikes in a long time, but the last thing we had a problem figuring out what was causing her to spike was Mikes Hard Lemonade.

 

This was about one year ago, so I don't remember what particular flavor it was, or if they have reformulated since then, but she won't touch it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I let my husband drink the rest of mine when I went gluten-free. A malt beverage doesn't really seem like it can be gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope, not with barley malt in the ingredient list.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A malt beverage doesn't really seem like it can be gluten-free.

In general, that is true. But barley is not the only thing that can be malted--just far and away the most common. There are gluten-free beers made from malted sorghum, for example.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0