4 replies to this topic

#1 Karah

Karah

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:18 AM

Hi, everyone. This is my first time posting but I could really use some help and support right now. I had never had food allergies until my onion one in 2000. I got really sick overseas and when I came back home I was given two rounds of antibiotics. For 2-3 months after that I had major digestive upset that no one (doctors/tests) could figure out. I was basically told IBS deal with it. I got better, for the most part, when I figured out I couldn't have onion anymore. Then last June I was given the Celiac diagnosis along with a couple of other food allergies. I started feeling a lot better until 2-3 months ago. I just had more food allergy testing done on Tuesday and was given a bigger list...mostly vegetables, tuna, oranges, watermelon, and squash. These are things I eat all the time! Now I can't. I already found I can't have legumes, soy, gluten, bananas, buckwheat, wheat, peanuts, corn, nuts, and dairy. Why am I having all these allergies/intolerances all of a sudden, I feel soon I won't be able to eat anything! Is there a way to fix this? Thanks for any help/suggestions!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 stri8ed

stri8ed

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:19 PM

Hi

Many people with celiac disease also have a leaky gut, which can cause you to develop new food allergies. Please refer to my post here.

#3 Lisa

Lisa

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 06:10 PM

How were you tested for Celiac Disease? This is the test ( full panel ) that you should have been tested for Celiac:

Anti-Gliadin (AGA) IgA
Anti-Gliadin (AGA) IgG
Anti-Endomysial (EMA) IgA
Anti-Tissue Transglutaminase (tTG) IgA
Deamidated Gliadin Peptide (DGP) IgA and IgG
Total Serum IgA