5 replies to this topic

#1 Hyper1

Hyper1

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 02:40 AM

Does anyone know why celiac would result in migraines (the science behind it)? I suffer from migraine and just wondered why this would be the case. Apologies if already covered somewhere, I but I am fairly new to all this....

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 IrishHeart

IrishHeart

Warrior Princess

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,558 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 03:55 AM

Hi Hyper,

Welcome to the forum!

I am not sure why we are prone to more migraines than most, (and I had my share of them for years-they are awful! ) but there are some theories out there.  I associate anything inflammatory in my body with celiac, so I suspect that's why I had them so bad. The good news is: they can stop off gluten!

"While researchers have yet to discover a definitive reason as to why there is this link between migraines and celiac disease, they do have some theories.  Dr. Alexandra Dimitrova, a researcher behind the survey, says there is a possibility that migraines are triggered because of the inflammation of parts of the body, including the brain, due to celiac disease.  Another possibility is that antibodies in celiac disease may attack the brain cells and membranes around the nervous system and somehow cause the migraines.  Although the cause isn’t exactly clear, Dr. Alessio Fasano, medical director of the University of Maryland Center for Celiac Research in Baltimore says that those with celiac disease often experience migraine relief once they switch to a gluten free diet"

***The new findings were presented at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Neurology; however the source of the original article, US Health News, cautions that this data should be considered preliminary until findings are published in a peer-reviewed journal. 

Source:.

http://www.celiaccen...34/vobid--7959/