3 replies to this topic

#1 quirozson

quirozson

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 05:51 AM

I went to a local Sushi restaurant that may be the best Sushi in all of North America.  Anyway,  three servers, a manager, and a bartender assured me that Asahi Super Dry was in fact gluten free and safe for celiacs.  This morning I woke up with terrible brain fog! I went to the ASAHI website and in their description they tout the quality of their barley!

"The malted barley we use for SUPER DRY is selected strictly in compliance with more than a hundred criteria we have set for this ingredient..."

http://www.asahibeer...perdry/secrets/

I'm new to Celiac, I even used my iphone to search the beer.  I was getting different answers online so I trusted the waitstaff, manager, and bartender.  One waitstaff even told me she had Celiac a "would know."  

I hope this forum gets to the top of Google search for "Asahi Gluten Free," so others don't make the same mistake.

I know many Celiacs consider this a safe beer...   nevertheless, IT IS NOT GLUTEN FREE!!!!!!!!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Takala

Takala

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,555 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 08:40 AM