Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Chocolate
0

14 posts in this topic

Other than Hersheys, what other kinds of mainstream chocolate is gluten free?  I am making up a shoe box of stuff for a Birthday present and I want to include some chocolates.  I have Hershey's kisses in there but I want something else too.

 

Thx

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Harry and David's Dark Chocolate Mint Truffles.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, Lindt makes a 70% dark chocolate block which always used to be gluten free and soy free (if that is a concern, even though their other chocolates aren't.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Mainstream may depend on where you live. Where do you live and shop?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

By Mainstream I mean at my local Kroger chain and Walmart or Target.  :)

 

Thanks for all of the ideas.  My nephew will love this box of stuff.  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It still varies. I live in the Seattle area, and can get Theo chocolate (for example - a better chocolate than Hershey's or Dove) at many local resellers (grocery stores and drug stores) because it is local. But you might not find it in the middle of Alabama. ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like Ghiradelli. I know their white chocolate bars are gluten-free, as well as their semi and milk chips. I would check their semi and milk bars.

See's Chocolates has some gluten-free chocolates. Don't know if you have them there.

Toblerone (plain) is gluten-free. Seriously. So are Snickers.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fudge Fatale makes gluten free chocolate as well as a caramel and espresso that I love giving as gifts to my friends and family. You can find it at your local Whole Foods or off of their website.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Other than Hersheys, what other kinds of mainstream chocolate is gluten free?  I am making up a shoe box of stuff for a Birthday present and I want to include some chocolates.  I have Hershey's kisses in there but I want something else too.

 

Thx

 

 

Other than Hersheys, what other kinds of mainstream chocolate is gluten free?  I am making up a shoe box of stuff for a Birthday present and I want to include some chocolates.  I have Hershey's kisses in there but I want something else too.

 

Thx

The Equal Exchange brand is gluten-free, and that's some powerful chocolate for any "connoisseur!" Plus, Endangered Species chocolate bars are great, and have tons of variety in flavor.

 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like Ghiradelli. I know their white chocolate bars are gluten-free, as well as their semi and milk chips. I would check their semi and milk bars.

See's Chocolates has some gluten-free chocolates. Don't know if you have them there.

Toblerone (plain) is gluten-free. Seriously. So are Snickers.

toblerone website states it has no gluten containing ingredients, but it does not say it is gluten free. to test i tried one small bar and got a fairly immediate gluten reaction unfortunately :/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

toblerone website states it has no gluten containing ingredients, but it does not say it is gluten free. to test i tried one small bar and got a fairly immediate gluten reaction unfortunately :/

Toblerone has only one product which contains a wheat ingredient, which is the Honeycomb version. So, they are basically a shared facility with only one product that is non-gluten-free.  As so many Celiac's eat Toblerone without issue and it is listed on many gluten-free candy lists, it could very well be that you had a problem with another ingredient.  There is a lot of dairy and soy in their candy. Not all reactions are caused by gluten.  I do not eat Toblerone but know many who do and they are pretty sensitive......no issue with the candy.

 

The best way to determine if it could be gluten is to call the company and see what their manufacturing practices are. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

toblerone website states it has no gluten containing ingredients, but it does not say it is gluten free. to test i tried one small bar and got a fairly immediate gluten reaction unfortunately :/

 

That's too bad that you had a reaction.  It is too bad that sometimes we have to find out the hard way what we react to.  Thanks for sharing.  I hope you feel better soon.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.