Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Red Food Dye?


  • Please log in to reply

5 replies to this topic

#1 LadyK

 
LadyK

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
 

Posted 02 May 2013 - 12:27 PM

I tried some of those soft drink mixes that come in a tube, and you pour it in your water bottle and shake it up. When I tried the red kind, I experienced symptoms that I would associate with eating gluten, mainly abdominal pain. Does anyone else react to red food dye? I'm thinking maybe it isn't gluten-free.


  • 0

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease December 2000, at age 10.


Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

 
kareng

    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,312 posts
 

Posted 02 May 2013 - 12:40 PM

There is no  reason red dye is not gluten free.  Sometimes people, with or without Celiac, have found they have a reaction to certain color dyes.  Is there anything different about the red one other than dye?  Did they use a different sugar substitute?
  • 0

santa-dance.gif

 

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
 
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
 
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
 
 
 
 
 

 


#3 shadowicewolf

 
shadowicewolf

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,768 posts
 

Posted 02 May 2013 - 01:24 PM

Red dye is often made of things that aren't good for you unless it is food based (such as strawberry, tomato, or beets). I've heard of it being made from bugs.

 

Personally, I'm allergic to it. It does all sorts of weird things to my tongue (loss of taste, pain, etc).


  • 0

#4 Juliebove

 
Juliebove

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts
 

Posted 10 May 2013 - 09:09 PM

You can be allergic to dye.  But it is also possible that there was gluten in your mix.  I don't personally know of any that contain gluten that are on the market now, but some years back there  was a sugar free fruit drink that wasn't gluten free.  That drink is still on the market today but it is now gluten free.  I remember buying the gluteny ones for cheap.  Gluten isn't an issue for me.  What was the brand of the drink mix?  It is also possible that you have issues with whatever sweetener that is in the mix.


  • 0

#5 1desperateladysaved

 
1desperateladysaved

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,220 posts
 

Posted 11 May 2013 - 04:28 AM

I recommend avoiding all artificial colors and flavors.  They just are not food, so why eat them?


  • 0

#6 ValeriaZ

 
ValeriaZ

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
 

Posted 01 August 2013 - 01:29 AM

Red40 is a known allergen and a very bad one


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: