Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

   arrowShare this page:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

- - - - -

The Lowdown On Rice Chex


  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic



    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,704 posts

Posted 10 May 2013 - 10:50 AM

After hearing so many talk about how Rice Chex bother them (as they do me), I finally wrote to the company. They do indeed contain corn. So those of us with corn intolerances had best stay away from them. Here is what they said:


Dear Ms. XXXX:



Thank you for contacting us concerning Rice Chex cereal. We appreciate the opportunity to address this matter.

The Mixed Tocopherols ingredient contains a corn ingredient.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know.





Amanda Peach
Consumer Services



  • 0

gluten-free since June, 2011

It took 3 !/2 years but my intolerances to corn, soy, and everything else (except gluten) are gone!

Life is good!



Celiac.com Sponsor:



    Kiss me! I'm Irish!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,578 posts

Posted 10 May 2013 - 11:27 AM

Just to clarify- This product is safe for people with Celiac Disease.  Bartful has an additional corn intolerance or allergy.

  • 0

"We have always found the Irish a bit odd. They refuse to be English."


Winston Churchill



May your glass be ever full. May the roof over your head be always strong. And may you be in heaven half an hour before the devil knows you’re dead. 








    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 13 May 2013 - 04:17 PM

I could not tolerate Rice Chex but came to know that it is because of corn. Initially, I did not have knowledge of all the many corn derivatives.

I also could not even tolerate honey and then found out they feed bees corn syrup often in winter months and it is present in the honey so I now use sugar or agave nectar. A lot of problems for me because derivatives of corn are in just about everything. There is a list of corn derivatives at www.livecornfree.com and you can click on a red link saying ingredients to avoid for an extensive list of them.

  • 0

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: