Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Disabilities Act And Celiac

17 posts in this topic

I read an article recently about a woman who could not attend college because of her allergy to peanuts...and I learned that Celiacs are officially considered disabled. Check out this web site:

http://www.aafa.org/display.cfm?id=9&sub=19&cont=255

I know when I studied for my second Masters (in secondary education) they covered this act and I thought of Celiacs, but I never thought we are officially included. The law does not allow someone to be excluded because of a disability...

How does this work with restaurants? Are they not forced by law to accommodate Celiacs then? Hmmm....

Ads by Google:

It doesn't appear to work in restaurants. Here's why:

It's a choice to purchase a product at a restauraunt. And, Just as a grocery does not have to stock gluten-free bread or a boutique does not have to have a size 16, we are physically able to choose where to shop.

A college is a bit different. If the student is required to purchase a meal plan, they have to be able to provide it safely. If they cannot, they have to make it a " choice" and offer to release the student from the mandatory meal plan ( as an example ).

In the end, the " law " is only as good as the legal interpretations and lawsuit outcomes. I fear a ruling that all restauraunts must provide gluten-free food will not be as helpful as we hope. Many places will just offer some pre- made gluten-free option that they can microwave and serve in the container. For most businesses, people willing to pay for a product, be it gluten-free bread or a size 16 or Celiac safe menu options, will fuel the variety of options offered.

Yep, we're covered under it. But like it was already said, its only really useful for school situations.