Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Bullseye Bbq Sauce

bbq sauce

  • Please log in to reply

3 replies to this topic

#1 Marie1976

 
Marie1976

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 122 posts
 

Posted 15 May 2013 - 05:41 PM

I read that Bulleye bbq sauce is gluten free, but I notice it says it has modified food starch? I thought modified food starch was questionable? We're going camping and my husband wants to bring this bottle of Bulleye sweet and tangy, is it OK for me to eat this stuff? Thanks in advance! 


  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Adalaide

 
Adalaide

    It needs to be about 20% cooler.

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,441 posts
 

Posted 15 May 2013 - 06:07 PM

As long as you are in the US it would by law be required to list that it was from wheat it if was in fact from wheat. It is beyond ridiculously unlikely that it would be from rye or barley... like, ridiculous. It is almost certainly corn or tapioca or potatoes. Just another myth that needs to die.

 

ETA: I guess I could have googled this sooner but Bullseye is Kraft. All gluten sources will be clearly labeled on Kraft products. If it had wheat, rye or barley, it would say so.


  • 0

"You don't look sick or anything"

"Well you don't look stupid, looks can be deceiving."

 

Celiac DX Dec 2012

CRPS DX March 2014


#3 kareng

 
kareng

    Be Royal

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,123 posts
 

Posted 15 May 2013 - 07:09 PM

I have used it. It's not my favorite.
  • 0

LTES

 
"We've waited 29 years for this and not even a Giant can stand in our way." - Mayor Sly James
 
 
 
 
Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator
 

 


#4 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 15 May 2013 - 07:57 PM

Modified food starch must be declared clearly as wheat if that is the source. That has been the law since 2006, but some old information is still out there. MFS is almost always from either tapioca or corn. Adalaide is right, it won't be rye, barley or oats.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: