Posted 29 March 2004 - 06:02 PM
Any one have any secret eats to share??? I know it's not much of a secret to state here, but I let out mine!
I must credit a runner who posted on runner's world who started this subject. It was kinda fun reading. I don't mean to disgrace this board, because it is wonderful and you all are wonderful, just putting a little fun in. I've been a little depressed and frustrated so just wanted to share a little craziness. I had to kinda laugh at myself trying to come up with something close to oatmeal. I hope I don't offend. I will never do it again if so. But I think it may help me for the crazy craving times hearing other peoples, if they have any. Have to replace my old ones.
Unsure if cinnamon is o.k., it says pure ground cinnamon. I hope so. Any suggestions to flavoring the cream of rice??? Do I have to throw out my toaster and get a new one?
Have a great day!
Posted 29 March 2004 - 06:55 PM
Pure ground cinnamon should be fine. McCormicks seasonings are gluten-free, and so are many others. Some do add fillers though so try to stick to a company you know is safe.
You can still have Maple syrup, if it is PURE maple syrup. Brown sugar is also gluten-free. So it might give you the flavor you want. Some people do eat oats, they are questionable as to whether the gluten in them is damaging to celiacs or not, but I don't like to take chances.
Also, Lea and Perrin's regular Worchestershire sauce is gluten-free! So you can still have the potatos and worchestershire sauce.
There are wheat free soy sauces too. We use San-J brand Tamari (with the Gold label).
As for my "secret eats", I guess I am pretty boring and haven't tried experimenting much. Sorry. Maybe I'll try something really wierd, just to be able to post something! I am having something very yummy right now though, its a tropical freeze drink.
Here is the recipe:
1/2 can of Welch's Orange Pineapple Apple (frozen concentrate)
1/2 -16 oz.(or 8 oz.) bag of frozen strawberries
1 tsp. McCormicks Coconut Extract
1 cup Mocha Mix (original)
1/4-1/2 cup sugar (adjust to taste)
Add enough water to make about a quart, and blend in a blender (I use a hand blender). Blend until smooth. Drink up and enjoy! Tastes great and can be made alcoholic if you like that sort of thing. Just make sure your alcohol is gluten-free!
Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children
Posted 29 March 2004 - 08:16 PM
Oh, well, I really like egg creams. Chocolate syrup, milk, and seltzer. I guess I almost always have that when I'm by myself.
I read that up to two ounces of oats a day was probably ok, but that cross-contamination might be an issue. So I don't know quite where that leaves us, except that since I never really liked oats all that much I don't have to think about it often.
Posted 29 March 2004 - 08:22 PM
I dont' know if you have a Walmart near you but their GV brand of Worchestershire sauce is also gluten-free!!!
Posted 29 March 2004 - 08:24 PM
Posted 30 March 2004 - 02:12 PM
gluten-free since November 1, 2003
Posted 30 March 2004 - 05:27 PM
You mentioned you liked the maple and brown sugar oatmeal, so do I but as you said, that's a no-no. Have you tried any of the Lundberg Family Farms rice products? They have a cinnamon rasin rice cereal that's really not bad. If you're not familiar with them click on www.lundberg.com . They have several gluten-free products that our health food store carries.
Good luck with your new diagnosis. I was diagnosed three years ago and what a welcome change since I changed my diet. And once you become accustomed to it, it's really not that bad. I take no medications --just restrict my diet.
You'll find some great answers on this fourm.........Judy
Posted 31 March 2004 - 11:52 AM
From the inforamtion provided by my local Celiac association chapter, studies have concluded that oats biologically do not contain gluten, pure oats are in fact gluten free. It is contaimination during processing that poses the risk and causes gluten to appear in oat products, not the actual grain itself. I think it's important that this is known.
But yes, new celaics sufferers should also be aware that most oats and oat products are not safe becasue there is such a high occurance of contamination .
Maybe one day we can get some truely dedicated oat farms and dedicated processing lines in North America, we celaics would certainly create a large enough market demand for a few at least!
Posted 01 April 2004 - 05:58 AM
Have a great day!
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users