Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

"well We Could Go.... Oh Wait You Can't Eat Anything"

10 posts in this topic

I'm currently studying abroad in Vienna and as much as the grocery stores have, I really wish I could just eat the street food and try the local cuisine. It seems to not even be an option here. The one person at my study abroad center who lives here and is gluten-intolerant just pretty much said "don't eat out." I have my "celiac travel" cards but they don't explain CC, which definitely happened last weekend. Luckily I have a minor reaction to CC so I wasn't bed ridden like if i had eaten one of those beautiful fresh out of the oven rolls that were on the table. But I'm hanging out with a group of college students who don't want to spend all their shopping money on food, so everyone usually goes to a street stand or small shop for food before we go see shows, concerts, etc. And then I take out my sad little sandwich on Schaer bread. I haven't really had time to cook because we're out late every night after classes experiencing the culture and all that Vienna has to offer and now I have time to cook but since it's Corpus Christi day, the entire city, except for bakeries and some cafes and McDonald's, is closed. I'm not eating enough and it's been cold so I just want a hot meal and yes I'm complaining but I'm so lost and hungry. Last night, by the time we found a non-asthma-inducing bar and got drinks, it had been almost 12 hours from when I ate last, because I'm too scared to order anything at restaurants and all I had brought was a sandwich for lunch before 3 hours of class, 2 hours of standing in line for ballet tickets and 3 hours of standing at the ballet. This is a normal day for me in Vienna, but not at home. I'm so new to this that I'm just sitting here thinking, "Why the hell did I think this was a good idea?"