This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newly Diagnosed- Dealing With Rude Comments

eblue

eblue Apprentice

Hey everyone,

ugg...I am so frustrated. After 4 years of misdaignosed health problems, was diagnosed with celiac about 2 weeks ago. It has been a major adjustment in which I am still learning, but I can already tell a difference in my health. I have read as much as I possibly can to learn about the disease. My family is extremely unsupportive and it's getting the better of me. They have just slipped in little rude comments such as :

"I don't think it's that serious, a little gluten won't hurt you"....

"at least you don't have crohn's disease, that would be really bad"

"you are being a hypocondraic...you really can't feel that bad...you are young and healthy! It must all be in your head"

"You will grow out of it, this won't be forever. Maybe you should try to eat a little bit here and there to get your body used to it. Kind of like allergy shots!"

"Why don't you want to go to steak and shake with me....I am sure you can eat something!"

When I politely turned down the casserole that my aunt made last week, my uncle roled his eyes and just got that annoyed look on his face.

I am getting so frustrated. I try to educate them as much as possible about the disease (they know NOTHING about it) but it seems like they don't care. They don't listen. In fact, a couple days ago I said something about celiac disease and my dad looked at me and said "What is celiac disease?" sheesh....it is the disease that I have dad....the one that I have told you about 20 times now....