Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      



Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
   
Subscribe Today!


Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:
Photo
- - - - -

Wheat Grass

wheat grass gluten-free

  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1

 
Ciel121

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
 

Posted 04 June 2013 - 12:29 PM

  Does anyone know if wheat grass is gluten-free? I always assumed it was not and avoided it until recently I read an article that stated that wheat grass does not contain gluten. Can that be true? 

  I was even more confused when I ordered a smoothie at Jamba Juice and felt very sick, definitely glutened. Of course I thought it was from contamination from wheat grass, but perhaps not. Any ideas or articles?


  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2

 
kareng

    Vote Moose!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,099 posts
 

Posted 04 June 2013 - 12:44 PM

I guess that technically wheat grass is the "grass" part so it would have no gluten.  The gluten is in the seed part.  The problem, in my mind, is that it is really hard to be certain there are no seeds in that grass.


  • 0

"Children in a family are like flowers in a bouquet: there's always one determined to face in an opposite direction from the way the arranger desires."
~Marcelene Cox

 

 
"Earth laughs in flowers."
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
flower-3-smiley-emoticon-emoji.png
 

 




 

 
 

 


#3

 
kenlove

    Advanced Community Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,872 posts
 

Posted 05 June 2013 - 08:21 AM

Like with other grasses, proteins and other molecules can transmute from the seed into what grows, like the grass in wheat grass. I've never had the nerve to try it being celiac but working in botany, i would never chance the contamination. There are many other healthy green juices than to chance a glutening.

 

  Does anyone know if wheat grass is gluten-free? I always assumed it was not and avoided it until recently I read an article that stated that wheat grass does not contain gluten. Can that be true? 

  I was even more confused when I ordered a smoothie at Jamba Juice and felt very sick, definitely glutened. Of course I thought it was from contamination from wheat grass, but perhaps not. Any ideas or articles?


  • 1
"Ryo tatereba mi ga tatanu"

If we try to serve both sides, we cannot stand our own ground.

Japanese proverb

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#4

 
kareng

    Vote Moose!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,099 posts
 

Posted 05 June 2013 - 08:30 AM

Like with other grasses, proteins and other molecules can transmute from the seed into what grows, like the grass in wheat grass. I've never had the nerve to try it being celiac but working in botany, i would never chance the contamination. There are many other healthy green juices than to chance a glutening.

 

 

Ken works with plants for his business.  So, if he doesn't think its safe.....that's good enough for me!  :)


  • 0

"Children in a family are like flowers in a bouquet: there's always one determined to face in an opposite direction from the way the arranger desires."
~Marcelene Cox

 

 
"Earth laughs in flowers."
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
flower-3-smiley-emoticon-emoji.png
 

 




 

 
 

 


#5

 
Ciel121

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
 

Posted 05 June 2013 - 09:01 AM

Aha, then that could have been it at Jamba Juice...I will stay clear of it. Thanks.


  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: wheat grass, gluten-free

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: