This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Dental Hell!

LolaB

LolaB Apprentice

Celiac seems to has taken a toll on my teeth.  Constant root canals, brown spots, lines on them, cavities .... just horrendous! It does not help that I am terrified of the dentist! I get terrible anxiety, get all sweaty and have been know to cancel appointments....yup I am a dentist wimp.  Does anyone else have teeth problems? Anyone?  I have posted before and have been gluten free for close to 9 months diagnosed with Celiac disease.  Even though I follow a gluten free diet and am terrified of having anything with gluten in it I still manage to feel like crap mpre days than none!  But let's talk about the teeth .............. it is embarrasing and a tad annoying that my dentist may be clueless about Celiac.  <_<      Did I mention I don't like the dentist?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

psawyer Proficient

Dental problems correlate with celiac disease. Malabsorption causes mineral deficiencies. This in turn leads to weak tooth enamel, and cavities ensue.

While I can't address your fear of the dentist, there is no reason to be worried about being exposed to gluten as a result of your appointment. I don't know of a single product used in dentistry that contains gluten. If anyone has a verified example, please share it with us, with full details.

mommy2krj Explorer